Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

maybe-someday

Maybe Someday

Series: Standalone

Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Publication Date: March 28, 2014

Publisher: Atria Books

Pages: 367

Synopsis: At twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

my-thoughts-2

Note: This review was originally written January 4, 2015 and first published on Goodreads.

This was a book of firsts for me. The first New Adult novel I read, the first time reading Colleen Hoover, and the first time reading about a deaf protagonist. Let me just say, I’ve always been interested in the deaf culture, especially in the beautiful language of sign language. It’s something I really hope to be fluent in one day. So when I heard that this book featured someone who was deaf, I was sold.

I had been hearing for a long time how good Colleen Hoover’s novels were and I can’t say I disagree. Her writing drew me in and I absolutely flew through this book. However, there were some things I didn’t care for. For example, sometimes the characters got on my nerves a bit. Things also got repetitive at times and sometimes even dragged (even though I did read this book pretty fast). Even though that put a damper on things a bit, I still really enjoyed reading this book!

Now onto my absolute favorite part of this book: the music. Sure I’ve read books before that incorporated music as one of the main themes. However, I’ve never seen it done this well. If you didn’t know, the two main characters, Sydney and Ridge, write songs mostly together but sometimes apart. All of the songs that they write in the book, you can listen along to at this website!The lyrics are written out in the book once they have completed a song and then all you have to do is plug in your headphones and listen to the song and read along with the lyrics on the page. Now if that’s not cool, I don’t know what is! I really respect Colleen for doing it this way instead of just having lyrics and making the readers imagine what they would sound like. The songs made my reading experience so much better!

Overall, this book wasn’t absolutely perfect but I don’t regret reading it for a second. It opened my eyes to a new genre and a new author. It also made me appreciate things I take for granted. I definitely hope to read more by Colleen Hoover in the future!

4-stars

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

