Books I Didn’t Finish

books-i-didnt-finish

Today, I wanted to make a post about the ten books I’ve marked as DNF (did not finish) on Goodreads. I’m sure that there have been other books in the past that I haven’t finished, but these are the only ones I have a record of. Please don’t be offended if your favorite book is on this list. Chances are, I will try reading it again!


1. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I'll Give You the Sun

I was in a reading slump when I first tried reading this book. It wasn’t helping me get out of the slump, so I had to put it down. I would like to pick it up again sometime in the future!

2. Alienated by Melissa Landers

Alienated

I managed to get half way through this book but I ended up putting it down when I realized that I didn’t really care what happened next. I found myself not being able to connect with the characters or story line. I hope to try reading this again someday though, since I’ve heard such amazing things about it! Plus, the cover is gorgeous.

3. The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

The Darkest Minds

I ended up not finishing this book after reading 160 pages of it. It wasn’t what I expected – in a bad way, unfortunately. I couldn’t connect to the characters and I found myself getting confused. It was putting me deeper into my reading slump at the time so I just had to put it down. I’m not sure if I’ll ever pick it back up again.

4. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

The Sky is Everywhere

I really wanted to like this book since I’d heard such great things about it but I truly disliked it. It was a struggle to get to where I got to in the book (page 160). The main character was annoying and book itself was so boring. I won’t be picking this book back up.

5. BlackMoon Beginnings by Kaitlyn Hoyt

BlackMoon Beginnings

I read the first 30 pages of this in ebook form at a time when I wasn’t home and had nothing else to read. It was okay, but nothing really impressed me so I decided to stop reading it. Maybe I’ll finish it one day.

6. Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt

Two-Way Street

I remember being so annoyed by the characters in this book. I couldn’t stand reading it so I just had to put it down. I won’t be continuing it. Ever.

7. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Pushing the Limits

According to my notes on Goodreads, I read 36% of the book. However, I just couldn’t get into it so I stopped reading the book. I don’t know if I’ll try reading it again.

8. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl

I got to page 145 in this book but for some reason, I didn’t want to read anymore at that time. I plan on finishing this book and watching the movie sometime in the future.

9. Aimee by Mary Beth Miller

Aimee

This is one of the first books I officially marked as DNF. I don’t remember much about the book, other than it was just not interesting to me. I won’t be picking it back up again.

10. The Story of Us by Deb Caletti

The Story of Us

I tried to read this book multiple times, but failed. Apparently, I just couldn’t get into the story. I haven’t tried reading it for a long time and I doubt I will try again!


What are some books that you couldn’t finish? Do you plan on going back to them or have you given up?

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

8 thoughts on “Books I Didn’t Finish

  1. iloveheartlandx says:

    Gone Girl definitely gets better in the latter half, so I hope you pick it back up one day. The only books I have ever DNF’d are some really boring classics, which people would probably be shocked that I didn’t finish as they’ve been some pretty well liked ones. What can I say? I’m not a classics girl! As a rule though, I try to give all books a chance as you never know when they’re going to get interesting.

    Like

    • Brooke's Books says:

      Yeah, I definitely plan on going back to Gone Girl! Maybe even later this year. I don’t think I was in the mood for it when I first tried reading it, you know? I’m also not a fan of classics – I can see why you DNF’d them!

      Like

  2. manyreads says:

    I totally get why you DNF’d Gone Girl, since it wasn’t until halfway that it got me so intrigued and i just couldn’t put the book down. I highly recommend you pick it up again and continuing with it. And it’s such a shame you picked up I’ll Give You the Sun during a reading slump. It’s an amazing book, i fell in love with it! You should definitely give it another try!

    Like

  3. Erika says:

    Oh no. Three of the books are on your list are on my TBR. I may just lower my expectations for them. :/ I couldn’t finish Gone Girl and Two Way Street either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

