Bout of Books Read-A-Thon Wrap Up

Bout of Books Readathon

Starting on Monday, May 11th and ending on Sunday, May 17th I participated in the Bout of Books read-a-thon. This was the very first time I participated in this particular read-a-thon and I had so much fun! For more information on Bout of Books click here.


Books Finished

BoB1

Total Read: 5 books / 1,387 pages


Goals

Since there were no set goals for this read-a-thon, I decided to create a couple for myself. They were:

  • Read at least 100 pages per day
  • Finish at least 2 novels

I read at least 100 pages per day all days except the first day. I came so close to reaching it, however, that I’m going to say I completed this goal. As for the second goal, I definitely completed this one. Instead of reading 2 novels, I ended up finishing 5!


Daily Updates

Day 1: 97 total pages

I started off the read-a-thon with The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan. Unfortunately, I didn’t reach my goal of reading 100 pages but I came SO close. I was sick that day and I ended up falling asleep early. I checked where I was in the book the next day and I was so upset that I didn’t read 3 more pages!

Day 2: 103 total pages

On Day 2, I continued reading The Blood of Olympus and this time I reached my goal of reading 100 pages even though I continued to feel sick. Go me!

Day 3: 235 total pages

This was my first great reading day during the read-a-thon. I was beginning to get over my sore throat so I was able to read a ton! As you can see, I read more than day 1 and day 2 combined! I also got so close to finishing The Blood of Olympus.

Day 4: 202 total pages

I woke up this day with my sore throat completely gone. Yay! I read the last 67 pages of The Blood of Olympus, which was the first book I completed for the read-a-thon. I also began reading I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga and got to page 135.

Day 5: 226 total pages

On this day, I read the last 226 pages of I Hunt Killers, making it the second book completed!

Day 6: 275 total pages

I wasn’t sure what book to read next so I randomly picked Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins off my bookshelf and read the first 25 pages at 1:30 in the morning! After waking up, I continued reading some more until I went to two of the libraries in my area to return books. I ended up checking out 8 books total from those two libraries, including Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling. I had been wanting to read this book since I heard about it so I immediately started it as soon as I got home. The book was only 75 pages long so it only took me 20 minutes to finish it. After that, I read more in Rebel Belle and stopped for the night at page 200.

Day 7: 249 total pages

On the last day of the read-a-thon, I started feeling sick again. I had a stuffy nose and a horrible headache. However, that didn’t stop me from reading almost 250 pages! I finished the last 145 pages of Rebel Belle at around 3 in the afternoon and since I had so much time left in the day, I decided to start reading Never Never: Part Two by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher. I ended up finishing the 104 page book later that day!


If you participated in Bout of Books, how did you do? If you set goals for yourself, did you complete them? Will you be participating in the next Bout of Books read-a-thon?

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

