Review: I Was Here by Gayle Forman

i-was-here

I Was Here

Series: Standalone

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publication Date: January 27, 2015

Publisher: Viking Juvenile

Pages: 270

Synopsis: Cody and Meg were inseparable. Two peas in a pod. Until . . . they weren’t anymore. When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything—so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg’s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there’s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, who broke Meg’s heart. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can’t open—until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend’s death gets thrown into question.

my-thoughts-2

Last year, I read and loved Gayle Forman’s two other books, If I Stay and Where She Went. Those books left me in a whirlwind of emotions and I truly connected to the characters. I think I may have even teared up while reading them (that doesn’t happen too often with me). However, I Was Here fell flat for me. This was quite a disappointment since I had been really looking forward to reading this novel for quite some time!

What drove me up the wall the most was the main character Cody. She was barely tolerable. In the beginning, I wanted to reach into the book and give her a good smack upside the head. She was absolutely oblivious to things that were literally right in front of her nose. Let’s not get into how she pretty much was slut shaming the main male lead, Ben. Not cool. As the book went on, I noticed how much I didn’t connect with any of the characters. I’m pretty sure I liked the kittens, Pete and Repeat, better than any of the humans. The only thing that kept me going was the mystery aspect. I wanted to know more about what led to Meg’s suicide.

Overall, this book wasn’t really for me. I didn’t hate it, but I definitely didn’t love it either.

2-stars

2 stars

One thought on “Review: I Was Here by Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

