Top Ten Tuesday | Unread Hyped Books

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish in which you give ten answers to the topic for the week. To find a list of upcoming topics, go here. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read″. The following list is in no particular order. All pictures link to that book’s Goodreads page. If it’s a series, it links to the first book in the series or the first book mentioned.


1. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

A Darker Shade final for Irene

I read and enjoyed Vicious by V.E. Schwab, so when I heard about A Darker Shade of Magic, I knew I had to read it. However, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet! Hopefully sometime this year I’ll get the chance.

2. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen

I’ve had this book on my TBR since I first saw its awesome cover a year ago. Since then, it’s been majorly hyped. I’ve heard mixed reviews about the book though, so that’s why I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I think I might still read it, but probably not anytime in the immediate future.

3. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love

All Colleen Hoover books have a lot of hype, but I went with Ugly Love since it’s the one I’ve heard the most about. I keep hearing about how amazing the book is, but I’m not very interested in it. I’m glad other people were able to enjoy it though!

4. Crown of Midnight & Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight & Heir of Fire

These are two books that I’ll definitely be reading, hopefully soon. I read the first book in the series, Throne of Glass, and the bindup of novellas, The Assassin’s Blade, late last year and haven’t continued on since. I kept saying “I’m going to read that soon” and then I ended up getting caught up with other books. However, after reading and enjoying A Court of Thorns and Roses, I’m really looking forward to more of Sarah J. Maas’s writing. I plan to read these next two books in the series before the fourth book’s release in September.

5. Prodigy & Champion by Marie Lu

Prodigy & Champion

I read Legend, the first book in this trilogy, last year and I liked it. If I remember correctly, I started Prodigy, but couldn’t get into it at the time. If I ever get around to reading this series, I’ll have to reread the first book before continuing on. However, I’m not really in a rush to read them.

6. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

Grisha trilogy

This is another trilogy that I’ve been meaning to read for quite some time now. I don’t know much about the series, other than the fact that there’s a character named The Darkling, whom everyone seems to love. I hope to be reading this trilogy soon!

7. The Penryn & the End of Days trilogy by Susan Ee

Penryn & the End of Days trilogy

This is a trilogy that has received quite a bit of hype, especially because the third book was just released. I do have the first book on my Goodreads TBR, but I’m not really sure what I’ll get around to reading it. I’m kind of interested, kind of not.

8. The Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Cycle series

For some reason, it took me a really long time to consider reading this series. I’d been hearing the hype about it for a long time, but just wasn’t that interested. However, now I want to give it a shot and see if I like it. Hopefully I’ll be able to read the first three books before the fourth book is released!

9. A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

A Song of Ice and Fire series

I’d be thoroughly shocked if you haven’t heard all the hype for this series (and its TV show). I’ve been so hesitant about starting this series because each book is SO long! Also, I’m nervous I’ll get confused since it’s high fantasy and I haven’t read a ton in that genre – especially not adult high fantasy. However, I really want to give the series a try.

10. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

The Mortal Instruments series

For some reason, I avoided this series for a really long time because I didn’t think it would be my thing. However, after my friend kept bugging me, I finally read the first book. I thought it was pretty good – not amazing, but not bad either. (My review) Since then, I haven’t continued on with the series. It’s not that I didn’t want to, it’s just that there are so many other books I’d rather read first. I’ll definitely read the remaining five books sometime, especially with the TV series coming out soon.


What are some hyped books that you haven’t read? Let me know in the comments or link me to your TTT post! 

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday | Unread Hyped Books

  1. iloveheartlandx says:

    We had quite a few of these in common, Game of Thrones, The Mortal Instruments & Penryn and The End of Days were all on my list too! COM and HOF are brilliant, especially HOF, so definitely read those as soon as you possibly can. The Raven Cycle is great, the first book is a little hard to get into but stick with it because it gets awesome. You have plenty of time to read the series before the fourth one comes out because it’s release has been pushed to February next year (sad face!). I recently bought Red Queen and am hoping to read it soon, but A Darker Shade of Magic has been on my TBR for ages!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2015/07/07/top-ten-tuesday-12/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

