Booktube-A-Thon 2015 | Daily Updates

booktube-a-thon-daily-updates

This week I’m participating in another read-a-thon: Booktube-A-Thon! Booktube-A-Thon is a read-a-thon hosted mainly by Ariel Bissett on Youtube and it started yesterday, August 3rd and goes until Sunday, August 9th. There are a total of 7 challenges that aren’t mandatory but they make the read-a-thon a lot more interesting! For more information, check out the Booktube-A-Thon Youtube channel by clicking here.

The challenges are:

  1. Read a book with blue on the cover
  2. Read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name
  3. Read someone else’s favorite book
  4. Read the last book you acquired
  5. Finish a book without letting go of it
  6. Read a book you really want to read
  7. Read seven books

Daily Updates

Day 1 

Even though I was pretty tired, I wanted to read a little bit as soon as the read-a-thon started which was at 12 am. I ended up reading 15 pages of Armada by Ernest Cline before I was too sleepy to go on. After catching some z’s and getting some food in me, I read 23 more pages before taking a break to go to the library. I ended up picking up quite a few books at the library because I wasn’t sure which books I wanted to read for the read-a-thon – I wanted to make sure I had lots of options!

After getting home and going through my books, I decided I wanted to get one of the hardest challenges out of the way first, which was to finish a book without letting go of it. I had originally planned to read a graphic novel for this challenge but since I couldn’t find what I was looking for at the library, I had to go with A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle. This is Doyle’s first book about the famous Sherlock Holmes and in the edition I read, it was only 115 pages. I thought I would be able to fly right through the book but boy was I wrong! The print size in the book was microscopic, therefore taking me forever to read. I unfortunately ended up not enjoying the book like I thought I would; I gave it 2/5 stars. I counted this book for challenge #2 and #5.

Later on in the evening, I tried going back and reading Armada but I only read 2 more pages. The book wasn’t really holding my interest so I decided I would stop reading for the night and see what I wanted to read in the morning.

Books finished: 1  |  Pages read: 155  |  Challenges completed: 2

Goodreads links:  Armada  |  A Study in Scarlet


Day 2

I was looking for something quick to read when I came across the graphic novel El Deafo by Cece Bell on Goodreads. I checked to see if Overdrive had the eBook for it and sure enough, they did! So I started and finished all 232 pages of it and I ended up liking it, but not loving it. I gave it 3.5/5 stars and it completed challenge #4.

Later on in the day I received a call from the library saying that a book I had put on hold was in! The book was The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson – a book I’ve been dying to read since I finished the first book in the series. I ended up reading 95 pages of it on day 2 and I’m looking forward to continuing with it on day 3!

Books finished: 1  |  Pages read: 327  |  Challenges completed: 1

Goodreads links:  El Deafo  |  The Heart of Betrayal


Day 3

This will be a short update because I didn’t finish any books or challenges. Instead, I continued reading The Heart of Betrayal and I’m really enjoying it! I managed to read up to page 215 and I’m planning on finishing the book on day 4. After completing this novel, I’m not sure which one to read next. I hope to finish at least one more book before the read-a-thon ends on Sunday!

Books finished: 0  |  Pages read: 120  |  Challenges completed: 0

Goodreads links:  The Heart of Betrayal


Day 4

Day 4 was an excellent reading day for me! I read the last 255 pages of The Heart of Betrayal and I ended up really, really enjoying it. I had been anticipating it since I read the first book in the series a few months ago and I’m so glad I wasn’t disappointed! I gave it 4.5/5 stars and it completed challenge #6.

After finishing my third book for the read-a-thon, I wanted to immediately begin my fourth. After looking through my books, I decided to start Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan. I only read 35 pages on day 4 but the beginning definitely intrigued me. I’m looking forward to continuing it and maybe even finishing it on day 5!

Books finished: 1  |  Pages read: 290  |  Challenges completed: 1

Goodreads links:  The Heart of Betrayal  |  Daughter of Deep Silence


Day 5

This will be another short update because I didn’t finish any books or complete any challenges on day 5. However, I did make good progress in Daughter of Deep Silence. I read 165 pages and got up to page 200! I’m planning on continuing with it on day 6 and hopefully finishing it.

Books finished: 0  |  Pages read: 165  |  Challenges completed: 0

Goodreads links:  Daughter of Deep Silence


Day 6

Day 6 was another great reading day for me! I finished the last 175 pages of Daughter of Deep Silence and I ended up really liking it! I wasn’t sure that I was going to because of the not-so-great things I had heard about the book. However, I’m so glad I read it! It was super intriguing. I gave it 4/5 stars and it completed challenge #1.

I wanted to immediately get started on another book in hopes that I would finish it by the end of the read-a-thon. The book I started was The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. I first read this book quite some time ago (maybe 4 or 5 years) and I remember really loving it. I decided to reread it because I wanted to see if I still loved it and also because it would help me complete a few challenges – “read someone else’s favorite book” for Booktube-A-Thon and “a book that came out the year you were born” for the PopSugar 2015 Reading Challenge. I really hope I’m able to finish it before Booktube-A-Thon is over!

Books finished: 1  |  Pages read: 220  |  Challenges completed: 1

Goodreads links:  Daughter of Deep Silence  |  The Notebook


Day 7

The last day of Booktube-A-Thon was actually my birthday as well! Even so, I finished off the read-a-thon strong by completing my 5th book and 6th challenge! I finished The Notebook with a few hours to spare. This was my second time reading this book and I found that I didn’t like it as much as the first time. I ended up rating it 3 out of 5 stars. It completed challenge #3.

Books finished: 1  |  Pages read: 169  |  Challenges completed: 1

Goodreads links:  The Notebook


I had such a great time during Booktube-A-Thon! I got a lot more reading done than I usually do in a week’s time. If you’re interested, check out my wrap up to see how many books I read, challenges I completed, and pages I read.

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

2 thoughts on “Booktube-A-Thon 2015 | Daily Updates

Leave a Reply

