The Nostalgic Book Review Tag

the-nolstalgic-book-review-tag

The Nostalgic Book Review Tag is a unique tag created by CW @ Read, Think, Ponder. For this tag, you have to write a review for a book that you read at least 3 years ago. I wasn’t tagged by anyone but it looked like a lot of fun and I wanted to give it a go! For more information, check out the original post here.

There are three separate parts to the tag:

  1. The summary – Tell us a little bit about the book and approximately when you read it. Write a summary of the book you are reviewing without looking up anything about the book (whether it be from Google, Goodreads, or the book itself).
  2. The thoughts – Share your thoughts on your chosen book. Reflect and talk about what you thought of the book back then.
  3. The epilogue – Now go and look up the actual summary of the book. See what things you remembered correctly and which things you didn’t.

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Perfect Chemistry

Publication: December 23, 2008 by Walker Childrens

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 359

Series: Perfect Chemistry book #1

Read first: Approximately 5 years ago

Goodreads | B&N | Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

Perfect Chemistry is about two teenagers named Alex and Britney who are total opposites from one another. Alex is the bad boy type from the “bad side” of town and Britney is the rich girl who’s supposedly “perfect”. Against their wishes, they end up as partners for a school project for chemistry class. Throughout the novel, they begin to realize that even though they have their differences, they also have a lot in common. They essentially go from driving each other crazy to being crazy for one another.


My Thoughts

WARNING: There is a spoiler in this section. It is written in white text and will not be seen if you don’t highlight the area specified. If you’re reading on mobile, the spoilers might still show up so proceed with caution.

I remember absolutely loving this book. I thought the romance was amazing and exciting. I enjoyed the characters, their back stories, and their interactions with one another. My best friend and I totally gushed over Alex and wished he was a real guy – not a fictional character. Not only did I love the main characters, I remember loving one of Alex’s friends… whose name I’m drawing a blank on. I do know it started with a P. Maybe Pablo? Paolo? I also remember being shocked by the events near the end of the book.

For more spoilery details on what these events were, highlight the white space below to read it:

Alex’s friend Pablo/Paolo/Some P Name gets shot and killed near the end of the book. It took me by surprise and really made me sad because I liked his character a lot! I remember clearly that my best friend called me late at night after finishing the book and yelled at me because I didn’t warn her that he died. Her reaction was pretty hilarious!

This is pretty much all I can remember about the book since I read it a really long time ago. I think I got the general gist of it down, but let’s see how well I did!


Epilogue

Goodreads summary:

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for – her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

It looks like I got the two main characters’ names right but spelled Brittany’s name wrong. Oops! There’s different ways to spell her name and I just couldn’t remember the correct one. It doesn’t say this in the summary, but I found out Alex’s friend’s name – Paco. I knew it started with a P!

As for the plot, it looks like I got the main idea down! I did forget that Alex made a bet with his friends to get close with Brittany. As for Alex being in a gang, I knew that there was something going on with a gang in the book but I didn’t think he was still affiliated with them. However, now that my memory was refreshed, I clearly remember his involvement and I can’t believe I forgot!


Optional Q&A

1. Why do you think you remembered certain parts of the book, and not others?

I think I was only able to remember the main details because it’s been so long since I’ve read the book. Also, my memory can be a bit fuzzy.

2. If you read this book again, would you feel differently about it than you did before? Would you still like the book if you read it again? 

I don’t think I’d be able to enjoy it as much as I did when I was 14. My reading tastes have changed SO much since then. While I still read contemporary, I tend to gravitate to fantasy a lot more these days. For the most part, I don’t really care for books that are all about the romance anymore. I’m more likely to read books that have a intricate plot and complex characters with some romance mixed in. If I had a blog or a Goodreads account when I first read this book, I probably would have given it 5 stars. If I read it again today, I don’t think I’d be giving it that high of a rating.

3. Would you reread this book?

For right now, I’d have to say no. I don’t really have any interest in rereading it at this time. I have a lot of other books that I would rather read. Maybe sometime in the future, I’ll give it another go just to see if I love it as much as I did in the past!


 I Tag:

Sorry if you’ve already done this tag or you don’t participate in tags. If I didn’t tag you, feel free to do the tag anyway! It’s a lot of fun!

The Rules:

  • Link back to Read Think Ponder’s post, so that the original rules are always accessible to anyone who is curious and wants to participate.
  • Remember: do not look up your book when writing its Summary and Thoughts.
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag your friends and fellow bloggers – it’s up to you how many!

Think about a book you’ve read and loved 3+ years ago. Do you still remember why you loved it? Do you think you’d still love it today? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

One thought on “The Nostalgic Book Review Tag

Leave a Reply

