Waiting on Wednesday #5

waiting-on-wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine where you share your most anticipated releases, one book at a time. I haven’t participated in this meme for a couple of months so I thought it was about time I made a post!


A Tyranny of Petticoats by Various authors

A Tyranny of Petticoats

Publication Date: March 8, 2016

Publisher: Candlewick Press

Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Pages: 368

Synopsis: From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat anthology of historical fiction and fantasy featuring a diverse array of daring heroines.

Criss-cross America — on dogsleds and ships, stagecoaches and trains — from pirate ships off the coast of the Carolinas to the peace, love, and protests of 1960s Chicago. Join fifteen of today’s most talented writers of young adult literature on a thrill ride through history with American girls charting their own course. They are monsters and mediums, bodyguards and barkeeps, screenwriters and schoolteachers, heiresses and hobos. They’re making their own way in often-hostile lands, using every weapon in their arsenals, facing down murderers and marriage proposals. And they all have a story to tell.

With stories by:

Pre-order: Barnes & Nobles | Amazon


Why I’m Excited

I came across this book on Goodreads the other week accidentally. I was looking at a different 2016 release when I saw this in the suggestions. The cover really intrigued me so I had to find out more. I’m so glad I did!

I haven’t read many anthologies (I think only 2) and none of them have absolutely blown me away. However, since this anthology is a combination of fantasy and historical fiction with tons of girl power, I think I’ll really love it! I’m most looking forward to reading the stories by Marissa Meyer, Beth Revis, Robin Talley, and Marie Lu. I’m definitely very interested in reading the others’ stories as well because I haven’t read any of their books before. It’ll be great to discover new authors!

Also, I HAVE to mention that tagline – “15 stories of belles, bank robbers & other badass girls.” I mean, what’s better than that?!


Is A Tyranny of Petticoats on your TBR? Let me know below if you’re as excited about this book as I am!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

