Top 10 of 2015 | Best Books Read in 2015

Top10_horizontal

Hi everyone! I’m participating in a fun event called Top 10 of 2015 that starts today! Hosted by Rachel @ Fiktshun, Jaime @ Two Chicks on Books, Mindy @ Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, and Nancy @ Tales of a Ravenous Reader, this five-day event goes from December 21st to December 25th with a different Top 10 topic each day. For more information about the event and what the topics are, go here.

Today’s topic is “Best Books I’ve Read in 2015“. It does not have to be books released in 2015, only books you’ve read in 2015. The following list is based on when I read the book because I didn’t feel like torturing myself by choosing a number 1.


More Than This by Patrick Ness

More Than This

This was my first favorite of the year and also my first time reading a Patrick Ness novel! At the time, I picked up the book on a whim while at the library and I’m so thankful that I did! The writing was fantastic and the amount of twists and turns always kept me wondering what would happen next. This is an awesome, gripping novel that I highly recommend!

Goodreads | Mini-Review

The Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan

The Heroes of Olympus series

Rick Riordan quickly became one of my favorite authors this year! I started the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series in February then continued on with the Heroes of Olympus series in April. While I loved PJO, I really fell in love with The Heroes of Olympus. There was an amazing cast of characters as well as tons of action and adventure!

Goodreads (Book #1)

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Lies We Tell Ourselves 2

Before reading this book, I read someone’s review in which they said that they thought this book would be considered a classic in 100 years – and I couldn’t agree more! The story surrounds two girls – one black and one white – who fall for each other in a time where this wasn’t tolerated at all. It’s a wonderful story that not only highlights the hardships the girls had to face regarding their sexuality, but also the horrors that people had to face because of the color of their skin. If you’re looking for a beautifully written story with a diverse main character, then this is definitely the book for you!

Goodreads

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes

This was such a fantastic debut novel! It was wonderfully written and had characters that I truly connected to. Each one of the characters hadn’t had an easy life, to say the least. They had all been through one tragedy or another. However, because of this, I was able to truly feel for the characters. Sabaa Tahir did an extraordinary job of making this possible!

Goodreads Review

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Another awesome debut novel! I just have to say: this book was so gosh darn cute. The relationship between Simon and Blue was so adorable! I read this book in one sitting because I just couldn’t put it down. I’m pretty sure I was up until 3 am! I highly recommend this book to those who are interested in reading more LGBTQ+ YA!

Goodreads

Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

Gathering Darkness

I read the first three books in the Falling Kingdoms series this year, but Gathering Darkness is definitely my favorite! With each book, the series gets better and better. One thing I really like about this series is that there is a large cast of characters. I also liked the fact that no one is really safe – it’s terrifying but it always keeps me on my toes! If you’re a fan of fantasy, this definitely isn’t a series you want to miss. Even if you’re not totally feeling the series after book 1, considering giving book 2 a try. Like I said, the series gets even better as it goes along!

Goodreads

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

The Heart of Betrayal

While I really enjoyed the first book in this series, The Kiss of Deception, I found The Heart of Betrayal to be even better! The plot is so intriguing in this series and I’m really loving the characters. I can’t wait to see how things end in the last book!

Goodreads

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Winter

The Lunar Chronicles will always be one of my favorites series so there was no way this book wasn’t making it on my list! While Winter wasn’t my favorite in the series (Cress was), I still absolutely loved it! The cast of characters in these books will always be some of my favorites. I will miss seeing their interactions and adventures! It was so sad having to say goodbye to all that. After Stars Above (the novella bind-up), I don’t know what I’ll do!

Goodreads

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Illuminae

I loved this book so much that I actually read it twice – once in October, once in November! I absolutely loved the formatting of this book, with all its documents, emails, IMs, and such. I was worried that the formatting wouldn’t allow me to connect with the characters, but I’m so glad that that wasn’t the case! I was so invested in the story and terrified that Kady and Ezra wouldn’t make it. I highly recommend checking out this book if you like science fiction, unique formatting, and crazy AIs (artificial intelligence).

Goodreads Mini Review

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows 2

Before reading Six of Crows, I read the first two books in the Grisha trilogy, Shadow and Bone and Siege and Storm. I was told that while it wasn’t necessary to read the trilogy before Six of Crows, it may be helpful in terms of understanding the world. While I didn’t care for many of the characters in those two books (which is why I didn’t read the third), I was definitely interested in the world and Grisha powers! In my opinion, Six of Crows was so much better than Shadow and Bone and Siege and Storm. The plot was very consistent and it always made me want to keep reading on! I loved the characters so much, especially Kaz and Inej (and Jesper and Wylan and Nina and Matthias… okay them all!!) Highly, highly recommend this book to everyone – even the people who didn’t care for the Grisha trilogy. In my opinion, you get so much more in this one book than in the two novels I read of the trilogy.

Goodreads


Honorable Mentions

Untitled

I just couldn’t not include these books when discussing the best books I’ve read this year. All five of these were such fantastic reads!


What were some of your favorite reads of 2015? Do we share any of the same books? Let me know in the comments!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

One thought on “Top 10 of 2015 | Best Books Read in 2015

Leave a Reply

