2015 Challenges Wrap Up

2015-challenges-wrap-up

In 2015 I only participated in two reading challenges. The first being Goodread’s 2015 Reading Challenge, where you can set your own goal. The second challenge was PopSugar’s 2015 Reading Challenge, where there was a list of 50 items you aimed to accomplish.


Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge

Goodreads Goal 2015

For those of you who aren’t familiar, Goodreads encourages you to set a reading goal for yourself. Last year (my first year on Goodreads), I set my goal for 75 and ended up surpassing it by 7 books! Since I did so well last year, I decided to challenge myself even more in 2015 and set my goal for 100 books. Last night (December 30) I completed my goal!! I was worried I wasn’t going to be able to finish since December has been so busy for me. But I did it!!


PopSugar’s 2015 Reading Challenge

PopSugar created a reading challenge that encourages you to go outside your comfort zone and read a variety of books. They give you 50 challenges and your goal is to complete them all before the year is over. I, unfortunately, didn’t quite complete them all. I ended up completing 44 out of 50 0f them though!

Challenges I Completed:

1. A book with more than 500 pages

The Son of Neptune

2. A book that became a movie

The Sea of Monsters

I’ve never seen this movie, but I’ve heard it was a horrible adaptation of the book.

3. A book published this year

All the Bright Places

4. A book with a number in the title

Plus One

5. A book written by someone under 30

Vicious V.E. Schwab

6. A book with nonhuman characters

Twilight

7. A funny book

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookstores

8. A book by a female author

Fairest

9. A mystery or thriller

Never Never Part Two

10. A book with a one-word title

Illuminae

11. A book of short stories

Through the Woods

12. A book set in a different country

A Thousand Pieces of You

I should get bonus points because this book takes place in several different countries – and all of them are in different dimensions as well!

13. A nonfiction book

Harry Potter Page to Screen

14. A popular author’s first book

The Lightning Thief

15. A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet

Amy & Roger's Epic Detour

16. A book a friend recommended

Fangirl

I’m cheating a little for this one because Fangirl wasn’t recommended by a specific friend. It was recommended to me by the YA community members who were singing its praises.

17. A book based on a true story

El Deafo

18. A book at the bottom of your to-read list

The Taking

19. A book your mom loves

The House Without a Christmas Tree 2

20. A book that scares you

Night Film

It scared me in a good way, of course!

21. A book more than 100 years old

A Study in Scarlet

22. A book based entirely on its cover

The Martian

23. A memoir

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me

24. A book you can finish in a day

The Tales of Beedle the Bard

25. A book with antonyms in the title

The Raging Quiet

26. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

Remember Me

This book takes place in England, which is somewhere I would love to go to!

27. A book that came out the year you were born

The Notebook

I decided to reread this book since I couldn’t find any other 1996 releases that I was interested in!

28. A book with bad reviews

The Secrets We Keep

29. A book from your childhood

Nancy Drew The Clue in the Diary

30. A book with a love triangle

Famous Last Words

31. A book set in the future

These Broken Stars

32. A book set in high school

Never Never Part One

33. A book with a color in the title

Red Rising

34. A book that made you cry

The Glass Arrow

I’m not one to cry while reading books, but there was an animal death in this book that definitely made me shed some tears. If you’re an animal lover that plans on reading this book, tread carefully!

35. A book with magic

The Battle of the Labyrinth

36. A graphic novel

Blankets

37. A book by an author you’ve never read before

More Than This

After reading this book, Patrick Ness became one of my favorite authors!

38. A book you own but have never read

The Kiss of Deception

39. A book that takes place in your hometown

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

I couldn’t find any books that took place in my actual hometown (that weren’t boring non-fiction), so I had to settle for this book. It takes place in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania which is actually on the other side of the state from where I live.

40. A book that was originally written in a different language

172 Hours on the Moon

This book was originally written in Norwegian!

41. A book set during Christmas

A Christmas Carol

42. A book written by an author with your same initials

Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

This was another one I kind of cheated on. My initials are BD, but I couldn’t find any authors with those initials! I settled for Becky Albertalli because we share the same first initial, plus my middle name starts with an A so it kind of works.

43. A banned book

Harry Potter Book 1 (Cover 7) Illustrated

This particular edition wasn’t banned (to my knowledge) but the original story was banned – which is so wrong.

44. A book based on or turned into a TV show

City of Bones

Challenges I Didn’t Complete:

  1. A classic romance
  2. A Pulitzer Prize-winning book
  3. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t
  4. A trilogy
  5. A play
  6. A book you started but never finished

If you participated in any reading challenges this year, how did you do? Let me know in the comments!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

2 thoughts on “2015 Challenges Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

