2016 Reading Challenges

2016-reading-challenges

I absolutely love reading challenges and after seeing so many fun ones going around, I knew I had to join in! This year, I’m planning on participating in 5 reading challenges. To discuss my progress throughout the year, I’ll be including updates in my month wrap ups for each challenge. If you’re looking for some fun 2016 reading challenges to participate in this year, keep on reading!


1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

Goodreads Reading Challenge

Every year Goodreads encourages everyone to set themselves a reading goal for the year. Last year, I set myself a goal of reading 100 books during the year and I completed it! This year, however, I only set it for 80 books. I know I’m going to be busy with school and I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself! As you can see, so far I’ve already finished 1 book towards my challenge. Yay!

For more information or to sign up, click here.

2. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

This challenge is hosted by Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book. The goal of this challenge is to read 26 books, each starting with a different letter of the alphabet. You can drop the word “The” from the title; for example, The Kite Runner could count as your “K” read. Also, for the challenging letters Q, X, and Z you can use a title that has those letters as a starting letter of ANY word in the title, not just the first word.

For more information or to sign up, click here.

3. Full House Reading Challenge

Full House Reading Challenge

This challenge is hosted by Kathryn @ The Book Date. There is a card with 25 challenges (like “new author to you” and “book from series you love). Your goal is to complete the whole card in order to get a full house. You have one free exchange, which means one time only you can switch out one of the challenges with one of your own creation. To see what the 25 challenges are, check out the link below.

For more information or to sign up, click here.

4. I Love Libraries Reading Challenge

I Love Libraries Reading Challenge

This challenge is hosted by Bea @ Bea’s Book Nook. The goal of the challenge is to check out and read books from the library. This includes print books, audiobooks, digital books, magazines, etc. The challenge has 8 levels that you can choose from – 3 books, 6 books, 9 books, 12 books, 18 books, 24 books, 36 books, and 50 books. Right now, I’m setting my goal for 36 books but I may aim for 50 books later on.

Out of all the reading challenges I’m participating in this year, this one is probably the one I’m most excited about! I absolutely love getting books from my local library – I’ve been doing it every since I was little. In the more recent years, it’s made more financial sense to read a book from the library before buying it if I’m not sure if I’ll like it or if I just can’t afford to buy it at that time.

For more information or to sign up, click here.

 5. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

This challenge is hosted by Rachel @ Hello Chelly and Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books. For this challenge, you set your own goal. You choose ahead of time how many fantasy novels you would like to read during the year. My goal is to read 40 fantasy novels in 2016! I’m very excited about this challenge because fantasy is definitely my favorite genre to read! Last year, I read 36 fantasy books so I think my goal for this year is very attainable.

For more information or to sign up, click here.


What reading challenges are you participating in this year? Let me know in the comments!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

12 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenges

Leave a Reply

