2016 Reading & Blogging Goals

2016-reading-blogging-goals

Hey everyone! Today I’m here with a post that I’ve been wanting to make since the year started. At the beginning of each year, I don’t normally write down resolutions because most of the time, I don’t end up completing them. However, this year, I want to change that. Here are the goals I have for the year that are reading and blogging related!


Reading/Bookish Goals

1. Read at least 80 books

Last year, I had a goal of reading 100 books and I just barely completed it. During the last few months of the year, I was super busy with my first semester of college and unfortunately, reading wasn’t my highest priority. This year, I’m going to be in school for more months than last year so I’m trying to be more realistic by setting my goal for 80 books. It would be nice to read even more, but I’m not going to push myself!

2. Complete all the reading challenges I have signed up for

I’m participating in 5 reading challenges this year and I’m really excited for them all! That being said, I really hope to be able to complete all of them. Check out my post HERE to find out the challenges I’m participating in!

3. Only buy books I know I’m going to read immediately (or in the near future)

I have a habit of buying books that I want to eventually read, books that have been really hyped but I don’t know much about, or books that have gorgeous covers. This year I want to make a priority of only buying books that I know I want to read right away – or at least within the month. This will definitely help me to keep a handle on my wallet and my ever-growing TBR!

4. Keep utilizing my local library

The library is just so amazing. If I’m not sure if I’m going to like a book and I don’t want to spend my money on it, all I have to do is take a trip to the library. This year I’m definitely going to be visiting it as much as I did last year (if not more)!

5. Attend at least one book signing / author event

I went to my first book signing last year and had the pleasure of meeting Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff, and also Claire Legrand who was moderating the event. I had such a great time and I would love to go to at least one more this year! Hopefully I can find one that’s no too far away from where I live!

6. Read a book that’s longer than the longest book I’ve ever read

The longest book I’ve ever read in my life was Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, which was 870 pages. This year I hope to read a book that’s even longer than that! If you have any big book recommendations, please let me know!

Blogging Goals

1. Write more reviews

This is something I really, really want to work on. I read 100 books last year, but only wrote a handful of reviews. This year, I’m going to try to write at least double the amount of reviews I wrote last year. Hopefully I can complete this goal!

2. Interact with the book blogging community more

This is a huge one for me. I’ve been a part of the book blogging community for almost 10 months now but I haven’t really made any friends. I follow a lot of blogs and people on Twitter but because I’m so shy, I don’t really reach out to others. This year, however, I vow to make more of an effort to talk to other book bloggers whether it be on their blogs, Twitter, Goodreads, etc.

3. Take part in at least one blog tour / blogging event

I’ve never participated in a blog tour but they look like a great way of promoting new books and also a lot of fun! This year, I hope I’m able to join in on at least one blog tour or other blogging event.

4. Make more creative posts

This is another important goal for me. I feel like sometimes my posts are nothing unique – they don’t make my blog stand out from the hundreds of others out there. This year, I want to try and make posts that are more creative and not something that has been done before!


What are some of the book or blog related goals you have for the year? Let me know down in the comments.

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

2 thoughts on “2016 Reading & Blogging Goals

Leave a Reply

