Review: Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

stars-above

Stars Above

Series: The Lunar Chronicles

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Retellings

Publication Date: February 2, 2016

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 369

Synopsis: The enchantment continues….

The universe of the Lunar Chronicles holds stories—and secrets—that are wondrous, vicious, and romantic. How did Cinder first arrive in New Beijing? How did the brooding soldier Wolf transform from young man to killer? When did Princess Winter and the palace guard Jacin realize their destinies?

With nine stories—five of which have never before been published—and an exclusive never-before-seen excerpt from Marissa Meyer’s upcoming novel, Heartless, about the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, Stars Above is essential for fans of the bestselling and beloved Lunar Chronicles.

my-thoughts-2

Since this book is a bind-up of nine different novellas, I’ve decided to separate my thoughts for each novella below. There are no spoilers for Stars Above but there are spoilers for the other books in the Lunar Chronicles series.

The Keeper: This novella follows both Michelle Benoit and Scarlet at the time when Cinder (then called Princess Selene) is brought to Earth by Logan, the Lunar doctor who is also Scarlet’s grandfather. While the main focus is on Michelle, we do get to see a lot of Scarlet as she goes from a child to a young teenager. I really enjoyed reading this story! It was very interesting to see exactly what happened during those years that Cinder was hidden away at the Benoit farm!

Glitches: This novella starts off with Linh Garan bringing Cinder to her new home to meet her new stepmother Adri and stepsisters Pearl and Peony. I had already read this novella on Marissa Meyer’s Wattpad in 2014, but it was fun to read it again! We get to see Cinder adjust to her new life and her new cyborg abilities as well as see her friendship with Peony form. Iko also makes a brief appearance!

The Queen’s Army: This novella follows Wolf (then called Ze’ev or Z) when he was 12 years old and first recruited to Queen Levana’s army. We watch him go through the terrible surgeries to make him more wolf-like as well as watch him adjust to his new life as a soldier. I first read this novella in 2014 as well, but I still enjoyed reading it again!

Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky: This novella follows ladies’ man and budding entrepreneur Carswell Thorne at age 13. This was a reread for me and I enjoyed it as much as I did the first time. It was great to see how far Thorne has come! He definitely still has some of the same qualities as his younger self, but I think he has also matured and become a better person!

After Sunshine Passes By: This is the second new novella of the book that follows Cress when she was only 11 years old. This novella was short (only 18 pages) but it allowed us to see Cress for a brief time when she still lived on Luna and how she came to live on the satellite. It was interesting to see Cress at this time in her life when all she wanted to do was prove her worth to Sibil Mira and Queen Levana. My heart broke for her when she was left all alone on that satellite (even though I knew it was going to happen).

The Princess and the Guard: This novella follows Winter and Jacin over the span of some time – from childhood to their early teenage years. It includes the situation that caused Winter to stop using her Lunar abilities and also when Levana forces Winter to scar her own face. This was definitely one of my favorite novellas! I absolutely loved seeing Winter and Jacin’s friendship over the years. I feel like we got the least amount of these two in the previous novels since they joined the story late so it was great to get a 57 page novella following them exclusively. This novella also showed what a strong and purely good person Winter is. I have a lot of respect for that girl!

The Little Android: This novella follows an android who has a “faulty” personality chip, just like our beloved Iko. The story is a loose retelling of The Little Mermaid in which our main character, Mech6.0 (aka Star), falls in love with a human. I first read this novella only a few months ago, but I decided to read it again. I enjoyed it – especially the brief appearance of Cinder – but the ending was a bit confusing for me.

The Mechanic: This is another new novella that shows Kai and Cinder’s first meeting from Kai’s point of view. I really liked this perspective because we got to see what was going on in Kai’s head during this scene. Kai and Cinder fans will really enjoy this novella!

Something Old, Something New: This was most definitely my favorite novella of the book. I almost read this one first before reading the others, but I decided to torture myself save the best for last. I’m not going to say much because I don’t want to spoil anything, but this novella features Cinder, Kai, Thorne, Cress, Winter, Jacin, Scarlet, Wolf, and Iko. It’s an epilogue to Winter that takes place (I believe) 2 years after the events of that novel. It made me so happy to see all the characters back together again and it was just SO perfect! This novella seriously made my heart super happy!

Bottom Line: This novella bindup was an excellent addition to the Lunar Chronicles series and I highly recommend it to those who have read and loved the previous books!

4-5-stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

5 thoughts on “Review: Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

