Book Traveling Thursdays #5

book-traveling-thursdays

Book Traveling Thursdays is a weekly meme hosted by Cátia @ The Girl Who Read Too Much and Danielle @ Danielle’s Book Blog. Each week there is a different theme and you must pick a book that goes along with that theme. Once you have a book in mind, your post will be centered around the different covers of that particular book. Firstly, you should explain why you think the book you picked goes with the theme. Then you will show the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover. For more information, check out the Goodreads group.

This week’s theme is “Crying is not always bad. Choose a book that made you ugly cry.” I really don’t cry that often while reading books. I’ll sometimes tear up, but that’s usually as far as I go. However, there are a handful of books that made me more than tear up – including the book I’m discussing today: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. I just wanted to say that overall I didn’t love this book (I ended up giving it 2.5 stars) BUT towards the ending, things got all kinds of sad and I couldn’t help but cry.


Original Cover / My Country’s Cover

Original TSOA Cover

There are many US editions for this book, but I believe this is the original. It’s not bad or anything, but it’s definitely not my favorite!

Favorite Covers

fave covers

These two are definitely my favorite of all the covers. They’re very similar, but I still wanted to include them both. I like the background color of the one on the left and I also like the font used for the title of the book on both covers! The one on the left is a US paperback edition and the one on the right is a US hardcover edition – both published by Ecco.

Least Favorite Covers

least favorite covers

These two are my least favorite editions of this book. The one on the left is the Hebrew edition and I think it’s just really, really strange. What is that purple thing? A dead flower? Some other weird plant? I have no idea. Also, that guy staring at me makes me uncomfortable. The cover on the right is the German edition. I don’t mind the image itself that much but the font and the color of the font is horrendous. It doesn’t go with the image at all!


What’s a book that made you cry? Let me know in the comments or link me to your Booking Through Thursday post for this week!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

