Mini Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

this-is-where-it-ends

This Is Where It Ends

Series: Standalone

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publication Date: January 5, 2016

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 285

Synopsis: 10:00 a.m. The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve. 

10:02 a.m. The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class. 

10:03 The auditorium doors won’t open. 10:05 Someone starts shooting.

Told over the span of 54 harrowing minutes from four different perspectives, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

my-thoughts-2

This was a book that I was very excited to read – mostly because I was interested in the subject matter. School shootings are horrific events that unfortunately happen way too often in the United States. I have previously read one book covering this topic and I really enjoyed it. I wanted to see this author’s take on it so as soon as my library had a copy, I checked it out.

Unfortunately, I didn’t end up enjoying the book as much as I thought I would. My biggest problem would have to be that with all the POVs the book had, it never showed the gunman’s perspective. I definitely think that this was a missed opportunity. Usually a shooters’ motives aren’t made clear from the start so I would have been okay with not getting a POV from the beginning, but I still hoped for one later on in the novel.

Other than that, I didn’t really connect with the characters. I didn’t dislike them by any means, but I definitely didn’t like them either. I liked that they were diverse, but other than that, they were quite forgettable. I noticed how disconnected I was from them probably halfway through the novel when I realized that I really didn’t care if the characters ended up alive or dead.

Bottom Line: This novel was very underwhelming in my opinion. If some aspects of the book had been changed or expanded upon, I feel like the story could have been greatly improved.

1-5-stars

1.5 stars

7 thoughts on “Mini Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

  1. Reg | She Latitude says:

    I’m really sad to hear that you didn’t like this book! I was SUPER excited about it as well but when I acquired a copy and started reading, the first few pages just felt very dry to me so I dropped it and haven’t felt an urge to pick it back up again. I agree that not having the shooter’s POV is a HUGE lost opportunity. :/

    Like

    • Brooke's Books says:

      Yeah, I didn’t enjoy the first few pages either! I wanted to give the book a chance but now I’m thinking I could have saved a lot of time and disappointment by not reading it at all. Did you end up finishing it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

