April Wrap Up

april-wrap-up-2016

The month of April was an alright reading month for me. I didn’t read as much as I would have liked to because of school, but that’s alright! I ended up reading a total of 4 books and 1,987 pages (the page count includes the books I didn’t finish). Since the semester ends next week, I’m looking forward to reading tons in the month of May!


Books Read in April

1. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows Final

Rating: 4.25 stars

The first book I read in April, A Gathering of Shadows, was my favorite book of the month (with Into the Dim as a close second)! I read the first book to AGOS in January and I’ve been eager to read the sequel since its release in February. I was so glad I was finally able to! I’m really enjoying this series and I’m so excited (and a bit scared) to see how it ends! February 2017 can’t come soon enough.

2. Starflight by Melissa Landers

Starflight

Rating: 3.5 stars

The second book I read, Starflight, was a really fun sci-fi novel that was full of action and adventure. It was a quick and entertaining read, but I wasn’t able to give it higher than a 3.5 star rating because I had a hard time connecting with the characters. I liked them enough, but I didn’t have any emotional connection with any of them.

3. In Real Life by Jessica Love

In Real Life

Rating: 2 stars

In Real Life was unfortunately not that great in my opinion. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I was going to mostly because the characters were so annoying – especially the main character, Hannah. Fortunately, the book was short so I was able to finish it in one day and it helped boost my Goodreads goal!

4. Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Into the Dim

Rating: 4 stars

I surprisingly really enjoyed my final book of the month, Into the Dim. I had been reading mixed reviews for the novel so I really wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. While it started slow, I ended up really liking the book! The time travel aspect was really well done and I came to really like the characters as well. While some things were predictable, I still had a great time reading this book!

Book I Started But Didn’t Finish

Confessions of a Shopaholic

I was only able to read 150 pages of this book in April because soon after I started it, I became swamped with papers, tests, etc. and couldn’t pick it back up. I’m planning on finishing it in May! (I actually just finished it yesterday, May 3rd.)

Book I DNF’d

And I Darken

I hated that I ended up DNFing this book because it was one of my anticipated releases for 2016! Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to connect with most of the characters (apart from Radu who was the sweetest) and the plot wasn’t holding my interest either. I don’t think that this is a bad book at all – I think it’s just not for me.


Reading Challenge Progress

This year I’m participating in 5 reading challenges! To track my progress, I have a page on my blog but I would also like to share my progress with you all. That being said, my monthly wrap ups will all include updates on my progress. For more information on the reading challenges mentioned below, click here.

1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

GR 2

My Goal: 70 books

Completed in April: 4

Total for 2016: 24

2. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

Goal of the Challenge: To read a book starting with each letter of the alphabet (“The” can be skipped; the first word after that will be counted)

Completed in April: 0 letters

Total for 2016: 11 letters (A, B, F, G, I, M, N, O, R, S, and T)

3. Full House Reading Challenge

Full House Reading Challenge

Goal of the Challenge: To read a book for each of the prompts found here

Completed in April: 4 prompts

Total for 2016: 15 prompts

Prompts Completed in April

  • Book you bought – A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
  • Book read in a day (self challenge) – In Real Life by Jessica Love
  • You’d like to change the cover – Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor
  • Library book – Starflight by Melissa Landers

4. I Love Libraries Reading Challenge

I Love Libraries2

My Goal: Read 36 books from the library

Completed in April: 3 books

Total for 2016: 11 books

5. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

My Goal: Read 40 fantasy books

Completed in April: 2 books

Total for 2016: 9 books

 


How was April for you in terms of your reading? Are you making progress on any reading challenges you’re participating in? Let me know in the comments or link me to your April wrap up!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

