Rest of the Year TBR

rest-of-the-year-tbr

Hi everyone! I’m here today with a different kind of TBR post. I don’t make TBRs too often (because most of the time I don’t end up sticking to them) so this post is more of a general “what I want to read before the year is over” kind of post.

Speaking of the year ending, I can’t believe 2016 is almost over! It feels like this year just flew by. At the beginning of the year, I set my Goodreads goal at 80 books. In 2015, I just barely reached my goal of 100 books so I didn’t want to push myself too much in 2016. However, I got sick in February and was hardly reading so I lowered my goal to 70 books in March. As of right now, I have read 54 books towards that goal. So that means I have to read 16 books in order to reach my goal. Listed below (in no particular order) are the 16 books I hope to read before the year ends!


1-2. Six of Crows & Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

six-of-crows-duology

I know I said that this list is in no particular order but I know I’m definitely starting with these two books. I’m currently rereading Six of Crows (I’m about halfway through) then I plan on immediately diving into Crooked Kingdom. I first read Six of Crows last year shortly after its release and absolutely loved it! I’m really loving reading it again and I can’t wait until I can finally read Crooked Kingdom!

3. The Reader by Traci Chee

The Reader

This book has been on my radar for quite awhile now so I’m very excited I can finally read it! It sounds super intriguing and I’ve also heard a lot of good things about it. I really hope to read it sooner rather than later!

4. A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

a-shadow-bright-and-burning

This is yet another book that has been on my radar for awhile now. Again, I’ve also heard a lot of good things about it and I’m looking forward to read it! Plus that cover is stunning!!

5-6. The Heart of Betrayal & The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

untitled

The Beauty of Darkness, the final book in the Remnant Chronicles trilogy, was published back in August and I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet! I plan on rereading the second book in the trilogy, The Heart of Betrayal, before going into the conclusion book because I don’t remember much of what happened in that book! I’m really looking forward to seeing how this series ends!

7. Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

Labyrinth Lost

I first heard about this book a couple months ago but only really became interested in reading it recently. It sounds super intriguing and I’m looking forward to picking it up!

8. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling

harry-potter-and-the-chamber-of-secrets-illustrated-edition

I preordered this book a few months ago and completely forgot it was coming out this month until I got an email from Amazon saying my order had been shipped. I really loved the last illustrated edition that came out in 2015 so I’m pretty sure I’ll love this one as well! I’m looking forward to rereading the story and seeing all the beautiful illustrations!

9. Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

gemina

I was lucky enough to read an ARC of this book back in May and I absolutely loved it! Unfortunately, not all the final artwork was included in the ARC. I plan on rereading the finished copy when it comes out later this month so I get to enjoy the story all over again and experience all the final graphics, illustrations, and art!

10. Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

ever-the-hunted

This book has been on my radar for quite awhile now so I was very glad when I received an ARC of it from a trade last month! It sounds really interesting and has a stunning cover as well! I’m looking forward to reading it sometime soon.

11. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

nevernight

Jay Kristoff co-wrote two of my favorite books, Illuminae and Gemina, but I have yet to read a book that’s written by him alone. This book sounds super intriguing and the edition I got is super stunning! (My edition is the Goldsboro limited edition which is signed, numbered, and has the red stained pages.) I can’t wait to dive into this book!

12-13. Ten Thousand Skies Above You & A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray

untitled-2

The conclusion to the Firebird trilogy, A Million Worlds With You, is being published on November 1st and I’m really interested in seeing how the series ends! Again, I plan on rereading the previous book before diving into the conclusion. I really don’t remember anything that happened in Ten Thousand Skies Above You. Oops!

14. Like a River Glorious by Rae Carson

Like a River Glorious

I read the first book in this series, Walk on Earth a Stranger, a few months ago and I really enjoyed it! I was glad I didn’t have to wait too long until the sequel came out. I’m really looking forward to reading Like a River Glorious!

15-16. Frozen Tides & Crystal Storm by Morgan Rhodes

untitled-3

The Falling Kingdoms series is definitely one of my favorites! It’s one of those series that gets better and better with each book. Crystal Storm is coming out in December and I can’t wait! However, I don’t remember many of the things that happened in Frozen Tides so I plan on rereading it before diving into the fifth book of the series!


Are there any books you want to read before the year is up? Do we have any of the same books on our TBR lists? Let me know in the comments!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Posted in: TBR

2 thoughts on “Rest of the Year TBR

  1. thesassygeek says:

    Great TBR there are a lot of great books on here! I have to say I absolutely love Jay Kristoff and I hope you enjoy “Nevernight” I thought it was an excellent book. I also read “Labyrinth Lost” and it is a very interesting and definitely unique. Good luck with all of these! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

