October & November Wrap Up

october-november-wrap-up-2016

Hey guys! I’m here with another combined monthly wrap up. The reason why I never posted an October wrap up last month was because during the first week of November, I had a constant headache. For an entire week,  I wasn’t able to do pretty much anything because of how much pain I was in. Therefore, I was never able to write a monthly wrap up post. Throughout the rest of the month, I had at least one migraine or headache per day which made reading and blogging really hard to do. Therefore, I decided to combine both October and November in one wrap up post (like I did for July and August)!

In October I completed 4 novels and 2 children’s books. I ended up DNFing one book in October and starting but not quite finishing another one. This puts my total page count for October at 2,450 pages. In November, I completed only 2 books (one being the last 90 pages of the book I started in October) for a total of 480 pages – my worst page count so far this year. :/


Books Read in October

six-of-crows-duology

I kicked off the month of October by rereading one of my favorite books of 2015: Six of Crows. I needed a major refresher before diving into the sequel – even though I did remember some of the main events. It was so great rereading Six of Crows and I definitely enjoyed it just as much as I did the first time around! Immediately after finishing Six of Crows, I started Crooked Kingdom because I just couldn’t wait any longer! It was absolutely AMAZING. I couldn’t love this duology any more!

untitled

After finishing Crooked Kingdom, I was having a hard time picking another book to read because it was nearly impossible moving on from that series. So instead of starting a new novel, I read two children’s chapter books from one of my favorite series as a child.

gemina

  • Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – 5 stars

A few days later, I still couldn’t move on from Crooked Kingdom (if you’ve read that book I hope you’d understand why!) so I decided to reread another one of my favorite books. I first read Gemina as an ARC back in May (I believe) so this time I read the finished copy. It was great seeing all the finished graphics and illustrations! I just love this series so much and I can’t wait for the third book.

harry-potter-and-the-chamber-of-secrets-illustrated-edition

To continue the theme of rereading my favorite books, the next book I read was the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Like a lot of people, Harry Potter is one of my favorite series so I absolutely love rereading the books. With the illustrated editions of the books, I get to have a whole new fantastic experience. The illustrations in this book were gorgeous and I’m looking forward to the next Harry Potter illustrated edition!

Book I DNF’d in October

Labyrinth Lost

After finishing Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, I decided to pick up Labyrinth Lost, a book I had recently acquired. Unfortunately, I couldn’t connect to the characters or the plot so I had to DNF it.

Book I Started but Didn’t Finish in October

As I Descended

I didn’t quite finish As I Descended, the next book I started, before October ended. However, I did read a majority of it (280 pages).

Books Read in November

As I Descended

As you can probably guess, the first book I finished in November was As I Descended. I believe I finished it around 1 am on November 1st. It was a pretty decent book – not one of my favorites – but I did enjoy it.

ever-the-hunted

Like I mentioned earlier, because of my headaches I haven’t been able to read a lot. Therefore, the only other book I completed in November was Ever the Hunted. Ever the Hunted unfortunately wasn’t my cup of tea. If you want to know more of my thoughts, check out the mini review I wrote (linked above).


Reading Challenge Progress

This year I’m participating in 5 reading challenges! To track my progress, I have a page on my blog but I would also like to share my progress with you all. That being said, my monthly wrap ups will all include updates on my progress. For more information on the reading challenges mentioned below, click here.

1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

GR 2

My Goal: 70 books

Completed in October: 6

Completed in November: 2

Total for 2016: 62

2. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

Goal of the Challenge: To read a book starting with each letter of the alphabet (“The” can be skipped; the first word after that will be counted)

Completed in October: 2 letters

Completed in November: 0 letters

Total for 2016: 20 letters

3. Full House Reading Challenge

Full House Reading Challenge

Goal of the Challenge: To read a book for each of the prompts found here

Completed in October: 0 prompts

Completed in November: 1 prompt

Total for 2016: 21 prompts

The Prompt Completed

  • Way out of comfort zone – As I Descended by Robin Talley

4. I Love Libraries Reading Challenge

I Love Libraries2

My Goal: Read 36 books from the library

Completed in October: 0 books

Completed in November: 1 book

Total for 2016: 19 books

5. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

My Goal: Read 40 fantasy books

Completed in October: 3 books

Completed in November: 2 books

Total for 2016: 26 books


How has your past two months been in terms of reading? Have you been able to read a lot? What was your favorite book that you’ve read recently? Let me know in the comments!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

One thought on “October & November Wrap Up

  1. Emma The Book Lover says:

    I definitely feel you, I’ve been suffering with bad migraines these past few months and it’s been hindering my reading as well. Let’s hope December is better for the both of us !! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

