2016 Goals Reflection

2016-goals-reflection

On January 10th of this year, I published a post about all the reading and blogging goals I had for the year of 2016. Today I want to look back on these goals and see how I did with them this year. I’m really looking forward to seeing what I did (and did not) accomplish in 2016!


Reading/Bookish Goals

1. Read at least 80 books

My first reading related goal of 2016 was to read 80 books. This most definitely didn’t happen. Unfortunately, I was only able to finish 64 books in 2016. There were several months this year where I hardly read anything (if at all) because I was sick with vertigo and migraines.

2. Complete all the reading challenges I have signed up for

Yep. Another one that didn’t happen. I actually didn’t complete ANY of the 5 challenges I signed up for. Some I came really close to completing and others I was way off. For more about my failure at completing reading challenges, check out my 2016 Reading Challenges Wrap Up post.

3. Only buy books I know I’m going to read immediately (or in the near future)

Well, I’m pretty sure I didn’t do well with this one either. Looking back, it seems like I bought or traded for a lot of books that I didn’t immediately read. Hopefully next year I’m able to accomplish this goal because it would really help me keep a handle on my ever-growing TBR!

4. Keep utilizing my local library

Yay, finally one I accomplished! I went to my local library a lot this year. While I only actually read 19 books from the library (which I talked about in my reading challenges wrap up post), I did go there often and checked out a lot of books! I plan on continuing to visit my local library often in the coming year!

5. Attend at least one book signing / author event

Yay, another one I did!! I actually was lucky enough to attend TWO book signings this year where I got meet two of my favorite contemporary authors. The first signing I went to was with my best friend and we got to meet Morgan Matson. Morgan was super nice and she took the time to have conversations with each person that came up to meet her/get their books signed. It was such a great night! The second book signing I attended this year was with my mom and we got to meet Sarah Dessen. I’ve been reading Sarah’s books since I was around 12 years old (I’m 20 now) so it was really cool to be able to meet her! I didn’t get to talk to her that long because there were a lot of people there, but she was really friendly! I hope I’m able to attend more signings next year!

6. Read a book that’s longer than the longest book I’ve ever read

Nope – didn’t complete this one! The longest book I’ve ever read was Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (which has 870 pages) and while I did reread that book this year, I wasn’t able to read a book that was longer than that. Hopefully next year I’ll be able to accomplish it (if I decide to set this goal for myself again).

Blogging Goals

1. Write more reviews

Unfortunately, I failed at this goal as well. I only published 6 reviews on my blog this year. Reviewing is a big part of book blogging and for some reason, I just really struggle with writing them. I usually feel more comfortable sharing a few of my thoughts on Goodreads or in my monthly wrap ups on the blog because sometimes writing up formal reviews is intimidating for me. Maybe in 2017 I’ll be able to get more comfortable with writing reviews or at the very least post more mini reviews on Goodreads!

2. Interact with the book blogging community more

I did pretty bad this year as far as blog hopping / commenting on other people’s blogs goes BUT I definitely interacted more with others in the book community – particularly on Twitter. I’m a shy person so it’s hard for me to start a conversation with people I don’t really know (even online) but I feel like this year, I’ve come out of my shell a little more (online – not in real life unfortunately). I mostly have the readathon #TGTRAT (The Great Twitter Readathon) to thank for that!

Sierra (@sierraiswriting on Twitter) hosted a few weekend readathons during the last few months of 2016 and it was so much fun! At the beginning of the first TGTRAT, Sierra started a DM group chat so people who were participating in the readathon could chat to one another. Through this group chat I’ve gotten to know a great group of people and we’ve talked about so many things – bookish and non-bookish. It’s been so awesome to talk to others who are as obsessed with books and reading as I am! So I’m definitely going to count this goal as accomplished. I just hope I can read more blog posts and comment more on them in 2017!

3. Take part in at least one blog tour / blogging event

Other than posting some book blitzes, I unfortunately didn’t participate in any blog tours or other blogging events. I’m a bit bummed about this, but I’m hopeful for trying to complete this goal in the coming year!

4. Make more creative posts

Hmm, I don’t think I accomplished this one either. While I continued my “Happy Book Birthday To…” feature this year, I don’t really think I came up with any other creative posts. Unfortunately I didn’t write any discussion posts or anything like that. I just did some of the usual posts – wrap ups, monthly TBRs, weekly memes (Friday Finds, Top Ten Tuesday, etc) – but nothing super creative or different. Like I’ve been saying this entire post: I hope I’ll do better in 2017!


Did you set any reading/blogging goals for yourself in the beginning of the year? Did you accomplish some (or all) of them? Let me know in the comments!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

3 thoughts on “2016 Goals Reflection

Leave a Reply

