2016 Reading Challenges Wrap Up

2016-reading-challenges-wrap-up

At the beginning of the year, I made a post announcing the 5 reading challenges I planned to participate in during the year of 2016. Throughout the year, I’ve been including updates of the progress I’ve made in each of my monthly wrap up posts. Now that the year is coming to a close, I wanted to wrap it all up by sharing how I ended up doing with each challenge. Let’s get started!


1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

The first reading challenge I’m going to talk about is the one I’ve been taking part in since I joined Goodreads in 2014. As you may or may not know, each year Goodreads encourages you to set a goal for how many books you want to read that year. In 2014, I set a goal of 75 books and exceeded it by completing 83 books. In 2015, I set a goal of 100 books and just barely hit it. In 2016, I originally had a goal of reading 80 books but decided to lower it to 70 books a few months into the year after I got sick with vertigo and migraines. Being sick and trying to keep up with college really prevented me from reading as much as I wanted to. Unfortunately, I didn’t end up hitting my new goal of 70 books either because 1) we moved in September and 2) I was sick again with migraines in November and part of December. Even though I didn’t hit my challenge, I did manage to read 64 books this year – including some really amazing ones!

The 64 Books I Read in 2016:

read-in-2016

(Note: Gemina is there twice because I read it twice this year!)

2. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

This next reading challenge I signed up for was hosted by Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book and the goal of it was to read a book that started with each letter of the alphabet. For this challenge, you could skip the words “The” and “A” if they were the first word in the title and just go with the second word for that letter. (For example: for the book The Book Ivy, I counted it as my “B” book, not my “T” book.) Also, for the challenging letters (Q, X, and Z), you could use a title that has those letters as a starting letter of ANY word in the title, not just the first word. (For example: I counted The Impostor Queen as my “Q” book.)

Overall, I did really well with this challenge! Unfortunately though, I didn’t end up completing it. I did manage to read books for 21 out of the 26 letters of the alphabet though. The five letters I didn’t complete were P, V, X, Y, and Z. If I participate in this challenge next year, I really hope I’ll be able to read books for all the letters of the alphabet!

The 21 Letters I Completed:

abc

def

ghi

jkl

mno

qrs

tuw

3. Full House Reading Challenge

The next reading challenge I participated in was hosted by Kathryn @ The Book Date. For this challenge, there was a card with 25 prompts and the goal was to read a book for each prompt before the year ended. You were allowed to swap out one prompt for one of your own creation in addition to the one titled “self challenge.” I came SO close to completing this reading challenge. I ended up reading books for 24 out of the 25 prompts! The one I wasn’t able to complete was to read a book with a family relationship word in the title.

The 24 Prompts I Completed:

prompts1a(Note: I feel like while Ryan Graudin is pretty well known in the YA book community, she’s not as well known in general as I’d like her to be. I really, really enjoyed the Wolf by Wolf duology that she wrote and I think it should be more widely recognized!)

prompts2

(Note: Crooked Kingdom and the first book in the duology, Six of Crows, would be the perfect book club reads. It’s an amazing fantasy duology that I highly, highly recommend!)

prompts3

prompts4

(Note: As I Descended was out of my comfort zone because I’m not really familiar with Shakespeare’s plays and this book was a Macbeth retelling!)

prompts5

prompts6

(Note: I actually prefer Into the Dim‘s original cover which was on the ARC!)

prompts7a

(Note: Kind of cheating with Me Before You since it was actually turned into a movie. Oops!)

prompts8

4. I Love Libraries Reading Challenge

This next reading challenge was hosted by Bea @ Bea’s Book Nook and as you can probably tell by the title, it was all about reading books from the library. For this challenge, you got to chose which level you wanted to aim for. The amounts were as little 3 books to as high as 50 books. I thought since I was at the library so often I’d have no trouble reading 36 books in a year – so that’s what I set my goal as. Boy was I wrong! I only ended up reading 19 books from the library. I definitely failed this challenge!

The 19 Library Books I Read:

image-2

5. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

This last challenge was hosted by Rachel @ Hello Chelly and Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books. As you can probably tell from the title, this challenge was all about reading fantasy books. For this challenge you could set your own goal. Since fantasy is my favorite genre, I decided to go with a pretty high goal of 40 books. I thought that because I read 36 fantasy books in 2015, I would easily be able to hit a goal of 40 books. Unfortunately, I only ended up completing 27 fantasy books in 2016. Next year when I participate in this challenge I’m definitely going to lower my goal. Maybe I’ll aim for 25 or 30 books instead of 40!

The 27 Fantasy Books I Read:

fantasy-books

(Note: Some of these books could be categorized in genres other than fantasy, but since they fall under fantasy as well I decided to include them in my list.)


Did you participate in any reading challenges this year? If yes, how did you do? Let me know down in the comments! I hope you did better than me.

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

One thought on “2016 Reading Challenges Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

