December Wrap Up

december-wrap-up-2016

Hi everyone! I can’t believe both December AND 2016 are coming to an end. This year seems like it just flew by! Unfortunately, I didn’t read a lot this month. I was sick for the first two weeks of the month and then I was super busy preparing for the holidays. I ended up reading 2 books and a small part of another one for a total of 797 pages.


Books Read in December

1

The first book I read this month was A Shadow Bright and Burning and I definitely enjoyed it for the most part! I really liked the main character, the setting, and the magic system. I had a couple issues with the book, but overall I liked it and I’m planning on continuing with the series! Check out my mini review (linked above) if you’d like to read more of my thoughts!

The second and final book I finished this month was Beyond the Red, which has been sitting on my bookshelf for far too long. I finally decided to pick it up this month and overall, I liked it. It wasn’t my favorite book or anything but it was definitely enjoyable. The world was interesting but it could be a bit confusing at sometimes – there were a lot of different territories and a lot of unfamiliar words. Of course, I didn’t see that there was a glossary/pronunciation guide in the back of the book until I finished it. Also, I liked the male main character, Eros, but wasn’t totally sold on the female main character, Kora. I’m not sure if I’ll continue with the series but considering the sequel isn’t out yet, I have some time to make up my mind!

Book I Put On Hold

The Reader

  • The Reader by Traci Chee – Put on hold at 46 pages

I picked up this book and read 46 pages in one day but then didn’t pick it up again for a couple of days. The book just didn’t immediately hook me so I decided to put it on hold for right now. I definitely plan on giving it another go sometime soon!


Reading Challenge Progress

This year I’m participating in 5 reading challenges! To track my progress, I have a page on my blog but I would also like to share my progress with you all. That being said, my monthly wrap ups will all include updates on my progress. For more information on the reading challenges mentioned below, click here.

1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

GR 2

My Goal: 70 books

Completed in December: 2 books

Total for 2016: 64 books

2. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

Goal of the Challenge: To read a book starting with each letter of the alphabet (“The” can be skipped; the first word after that will be counted)

Completed in December: 0 letters

Total for 2016: 21 letters

3. Full House Reading Challenge

Full House Reading Challenge

Goal of the Challenge: To read a book for each of the prompts found here

Completed in December: 1 prompt

Total for 2016: 24 prompts

The Prompt Completed

  • Color word in title – Beyond the Red by Ava Jae

4. I Love Libraries Reading Challenge

I Love Libraries2

My Goal: Read 36 books from the library

Completed in December: 0 books

Total for 2016: 19 books

5. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

My Goal: Read 40 fantasy books

Completed in December: 1 book

Total for 2016: 27 books

For more on how I did this year with my reading challenges, check out my 2016 Reading Challenges Wrap Up post!

How was your December in terms of reading? Were you able to read a lot? Let me know in the comments and/or link me your December Wrap Up!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

