My Favorite Books of 2016

my-favorite-books-of-2016

Hey everyone! I can’t believe 2016 is already coming to a close. While I didn’t read as much as I wanted to this year, I did manage to complete 64 books! 51 of those were first-time reads and the other 13 were rereads. Today I wanted to share with you my 10 favorite books I read this year. I’m amazed that I was able to get my list down to 10 and only have 3 honorable mentions! The following list is kinda in order… except I would say that Gemina and Crooked Kingdom are definitely tied for my #1 favorite of the year. Click each book title to be taken to that book’s Goodreads page!


1. Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

gemina

I loved this book so much I ended up reading it TWO times this year! The first time was in May after I traded for an ARC of the book. I flew through it in less than 24 hours because I just couldn’t put it down! While it took me a little bit to get into the first book in this series (Illuminae), I immediately was drawn into this one. I think it was because I was already familiar with the unique way of telling the story (through documents, IMs, etc) that it didn’t take me any time to get used to it like it did with Illuminae. When Gemina was published, I bought a finished copy and reread the book that way because I wanted to see all the final graphics and illustrations that weren’t in the ARC! I highly recommend this series to fans of sci-fi and to those who enjoy unique ways of telling a story!

2. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

crooked-kingdom

This was one of my highly anticipated books of 2016 and it most definitely didn’t disappoint! Six of Crows was one of my favorite books of last year so I’m glad its sequel was just as amazing. Crooked Kingdom had lots of action, great relationships (both romantic relationships and friendships), an amazing plot, and some heartbreak as well. I just love the world and characters Leigh has created so much and I will forever recommend this duology to everyone!! Seriously, if you’re a fan of fantasy: go read it right now!

3. Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes

Frozen Tides

Frozen Tides is the fourth book in the Falling Kingdoms series – which is one of my favorite fantasy series. It has a large cast of characters and an awesome world with tons of world-building. In this series, each book gets better and better! You never know what’s going to happen next (or who’s going to die next) and I love it! The fifth book in the series just came out earlier this month and I can’t wait to continue on. This is another series I highly, highly recommend!

4. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

My Lady Jane

When I started this book, I didn’t exactly know what it was about. I knew that it was a play on history and that a lot of people were excited about it, but other than that I pretty much went in blind. I immediately started the book once I got it in the mail and I ended up absolutely loving it!! One of my favorite parts was the whole concept of the authors using history, but changing it in order to put their own spin on it. Also, I really loved that some of the characters could transform into animals and just the whole magic thing was really neat. My absolute favorite part of this book though has to be the humor! I mean, all those horse puns were HILARIOUS! I definitely laughed out loud several times while reading this book. I’m so pleasantly surprised that a book I had known little to nothing about turned out to be one of my favorite books of the year!

5. The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine

The Impostor Queen

This book was another one that pleasantly surprised me! I knew a bit more about this book than I did My Lady Jane, but it was way better than I expected it to be! I really loved the unique magic system, the world, and the main characters Elli and Oskar. I also really liked that the main character Elli was bisexual because there seriously isn’t enough LGBTQIA+ rep in fantasy. For more of my thoughts, feel free to check out my review!

6-7. A Darker Shade of Magic & A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

3

This series is definitely shaping up to be one of my favorite series! I absolutely love the whole multiple universes concept! It was so cool seeing the different versions of London and it was neat that only a select number of people were able to travel between them! I loved the magic system, the plot, the writing, the characters – practically everything! I highly, highly recommend this series!!

8-9. Wolf by Wolf & Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin

wolf-by-wolf-duology

This was a seriously unique and well done duology! I loved the whole concept and the whole skinshifting ability that the main character and others had. It was really unique and very interesting! I liked most of the characters and I liked the writing as well! The second book is definitely heartbreaking though so prepare yourselves! I highly recommend this duology to fans of historical fiction and fantasy!

10. Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

stalking-jack-the-ripper

This last one on my list was another really fantastic book! I was lucky enough to get an ARC of this book so I ended up reading it 3 months early. I really enjoyed the plot – it was very mysterious and it always kept me guessing! I also really loved the main character, Audrey Rose. She was smart, she knew what she wanted in life, and she was willing to fight for it. I really admired that about her! Lastly, I really loved the writing in this book. It was a fantastic debut novel and I’m very much looking forward to the author’s next novel!


Honorable Mentions

I couldn’t talk about my favorite books of the year without mentioning these three! 

1. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

The Unexpected Everything

The Unexpected Everything is by one of my favorite contemporary authors and it didn’t disappoint! The book was very fun but it also had its serious moments as well (which is one of my favorite parts of Morgan’s books). I also loved all the different relationships that were in this book: friendships, family relationships, and the main romantic relationship. Speaking of that, I loved the love interest, Clark! He was adorable, loved books, and was an author as well! If that wasn’t enough, there were TONS of dogs featured in this book. If all these things sound like something you would enjoy, I highly recommend you read this book sooner rather than later!

2. Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

Stars Above

Stars Above is a bindup of novellas that take place in the Lunar Chronicles world. Some of these novellas I had read in the past, but some of them were new to me. I really loved them for the most part! The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series and it was great to be back in the world – even if it was only for a little while. Check out my review for this book here if you’re interested!

3. Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

Into the Dim

Lastly, Into the Dim, was another pleasant surprise. I had read mixed reviews of this book and some of them were leaning more to the negative side. I decided to go ahead and read it anyway to see what I thought of it and I’m so glad I did! The time traveling aspect was done so well and it was super interesting! I also ended up really liking the characters! I’m looking forward to reading the sequel, Sparks of Light, when it comes out in 2017!


What were some of your favorite books you read this year? Let me know in the comments below and/or link me to a post you’ve written on the topic. I would love to see if we share any favorites!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

