2017 Reading Challenges

2017-reading-challenges

Hello everyone and Happy New Year!! I can’t believe it’s 2017 already! To kick off the new year, I wanted to share with you guys all the reading challenges I’m going to be participating in! This year I’m trying to complete 5 different reading challenges – 4 of which I participated in last year and 1 new one. I’m going to be keeping track of my progress on this page on my blog and also either include updates in my monthly wrap ups or make a separate post at the end of each month. Let’s get started!


1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

goodreads-header

My Goal: Read 75 books

My first reading challenge of the year is, of course, the Goodreads Reading Challenge. As you may already know, each year Goodreads encourages its users to set a reading goal for the year. In previous years, I’ve set goals of 75 books, 100 books, and 70 books. As you can see above, this year I’m challenging myself to read 75 books. Since I didn’t hit my goal of 70 books last year, I didn’t want to make my 2017 goal too high. I hope I’ll be able to complete the challenge this year!

2. Beat the Backlist Reading Challenge

beat-the-backlist-header

My Goal: Read 25 backlist books

Beat the Backlist is the new reading challenge I’m participating in and I’m so excited for it! The aim of the challenge is to read books that were published before 2017 – also known as backlist books. For this challenge, you can set your own goal. As you saw above, my goal is to read 25 backlist books. Hopefully I will succeed at this reading challenge and shrink my physical TBR a bit as well! This reading challenge also has lots of other fun things including a Hogwarts House competition, scavenger hunts, Twitter chats, etc. Check out the linked post below to find out more!

For more information or to sign up, click here.

3. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

flights-of-fantasy-header

My Goal: Read 25 fantasy books

As you can probably tell from the title, this reading challenge is all about reading fantasy books! This is also another reading challenge where you can set your own goal. I participated in Flights of Fantasy last year and set myself a very high goal of 40 books. Unfortunately, I didn’t even come close to meeting the goal – I only read 27 fantasy books in 2016. This year, I really want to hit my goal so I decided to set a goal of only 25 books.

For more information or to sign up, click here.

4. Library Love Challenge

library-love-header

My Goal: Read 12 library books

This is another reading challenge I participated in last year (it was called I Love Libraries Reading Challenge then). As you can probably tell from the title, this reading challenge is all about reading books from the library. I love going to my local libraries (there are a few in my area). The one in particular always has a great selection and usually even has tons of new releases! When I’m not sure if I’m going to like a particular book or if I don’t have the extra money at the time to buy the book, I check it out from the library instead! Last year, I unfortunately didn’t complete the challenge. My goal was to read 36 library books and I only ended up reading 19. This year I’m shooting for the lowest level of 12 books and I really hope I’ll be able to complete it!

For more information or to sign up, click here.

5. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

alphabet-soup-header2

My Goal: Read a book for each letter of the alphabet

The goal of this challenge is to read a book for each letter of the alphabet. To make things a bit easier, you can ignore the words “The” or “A” if they’re the first word in the title and go with the letter of the second word. For example, last year I counted The Book of Ivy as my “B” book, not my “T” book. Also, for the more challenging letters (Q, X, and Z), you can use a title that has those letters as a starting letter of ANY word in the title, not just the first word. For example, last year I counted The Impostor Queen as my “Q” book. I came SO close to completing this challenge in 2016 – I completed books for 21 out of the 26 letters of the alphabet. This year, I really hope to complete all 26!

For more information or to sign up, click here.


Are you participating in any reading challenges this year? If so, are we participating in any of the same ones? Let me know in the comments!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

6 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenges

  1. Alicia @ A Kernel of Nonsense says:

    The Library Love challenge sounds right up my alley. I absolutely adore my library and am so thankful to be a part of a really good one. It’s always nice to know you don’t always have to buy a book in order to read it because honestly, I’m not sure I could afford my book addiction. I hope you enjoy all your challenges and they are turn out successful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

