Review: The Rose & the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh

the-rose-the-dagger

The Rose and the Dagger

Series: The Wrath and the Dawn #2

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Publication Date: April 26, 2016

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Pages: 416

Synopsis: In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny. Still, a curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Now she’s reunited with her family, who have found refuge in the desert, where a deadly force is gathering against Khalid—a force set on destroying his empire and commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Trapped between loyalties to those she loves, the only thing Shazi can do is act. Using the burgeoning magic within her as a guide, she strikes out on her own to end both this terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. But to do it, she must evade enemies of her own to stay alive.

The saga that began with The Wrath and the Dawn takes its final turn as Shahrzad risks everything to find her way back to her one true love again.

my-thoughts-2

Wow, what an amazing conclusion to a fantastic duology! What drew me in in The Wrath & the Dawn was the beautiful writing, the interesting world, and the spectacular characters. These things continued (and were expanded upon) in The Rose & the Dagger.

I enjoyed so many aspects of this book but to start off, I have to note that it was very interesting to see more of the characters that were in The Wrath & the Dawn but had played a smaller role in that book. In particular, I loved getting to know Shahrzad’s younger sister, Irsa. At first, Irsa was a very timid, very quiet girl. Her whole life had just been uprooted and she doesn’t really know her place in things quite yet. Throughout this book, however, she really grows as a character. She comes into her own with the help of an unexpected special someone in her life. I also enjoyed seeing even more of Despina, Jalal, and Vikram – even if they didn’t take up a lot of the focus of the book.

Another thing I really enjoyed about The Rose & the Dagger was that Khalid and Shahrzad’s love continued to grow and flourish. Even though they faced many obstacles and hardships, their love for one another never wavered. I really admired that!

The only complaint I have about this book was that at times, things were a bit slow and dragged a little. It didn’t take away too much from my overall enjoyment, but it did stop me from giving the book a full 5 star rating.

Bottom Line: This book held many twists and turns, sacrifices and heartache, & selflessness and courage. It was an emotional rollercoaster at times and it made me scared to see how it would end. Overall, I loved it so much. I would highly, highly recommend this duology to anybody and everybody!

4-5-stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

4 thoughts on “Review: The Rose & the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh

  1. bookersblogger says:

    YASS! I loved reading it, although in my opinion the Rose and The dagger was a bit slow at first but definitely worth the read!! I fangirled so much over the wrath and the dawn

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jaylin says:

      Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to evtneyhirg. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • bluebellflowers says:

        Well actually I think I know why my website ate your comment😂 I’ve been blogging for over a year but because of some reasons I rebooted my blog and deleted all my content which I hope to gradually build again!💕 some advice would be just Blog with your heart’s content and make sure to add tags so people can find your posts easily and I think you’re doing great so far! I didn’t know you were a newbie! I hope we become great friends and you make a whole community of blogger friends which is another tip…be sure to blog hop (visit other blogs) frequently and like and comment so you interact with other bloggers and they’ll surely visit your website too!💕 Wow, that was long! Maybe I should do a blog post on some advice for new bloggers? Would that be helpful??

        Like

Leave a Reply

