Try a Chapter Tag

try-a-chapter-tag

Hi guys! Today I’m here with a tag – which is something I haven’t done in awhile! I was trying to look for my next read (before I started to get into a reading slump) and I had no idea what I wanted to read. I know that there are several books on my shelves I really want to read but I’m not sure which specific book I want to go with. That’s why I decided to do this tag! This tag was created by BookParadise on Youtube and I’m excited to give it a go!

The Rules:

  • Choose at least 5 books that you have been meaning to read
  • Read the first chapter of each book (prologue included)
  • Decide if you want to continue with the book or if you’re going to set it aside for now

Book #1: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

The Star-Touched Queen

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

My Thoughts:

Out of the 6 books I read for this tag, this one had the shortest first chapter (only 7 pages). My first impression of this book was that it had very beautiful, descriptive writing. However, this writing style took a bit longer for me to read and process. Not that this is a bad thing, it was just something I noticed! In addition, I thought it was interesting how the main character’s curse was due to her horoscope. I thought that this was very unique and it left me wanting to know more about this world! Lastly, I thought the way the first chapter ended was very mysterious – the main character couldn’t see her own shadow!

Verdict: Definitely a contender

Book #2: Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Graceling

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight – she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to work as the king’s thug.

When she first meets Prince Po, Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change. She never expects to become Po’s friend. She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace – or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away.

My Thoughts:

This was a very faced-paced first chapter! It had a lot of action straight off the bat and also some backstory as well. The main character, Katsa, was rescuing a prisoner from another king’s dungeon and knocking out guards left and right! She is one of the few people who are Graced, which means they have some sort of ability. Katsa has the ability to kill very easily, but she doesn’t necessarily like this ability. In this first chapter we learn that she first killed a man when she was only 8 years old and that her uncle, the king, decided to keep her around instead of executing her because he knew that one day he could use her abilities to further his own cause. I really enjoyed this first chapter! I felt like we learned a lot in these 13 pages, but not too much!

Verdict: Definitely a contender

Book #3: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

The Girl from Everywhere

Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.

As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.

But the end to it all looms closer every day. Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting it—and going there—could erase Nix’s very existence.

For the first time, Nix is entering unknown waters. She could find herself, find her family, find her own fantastical ability, her own epic love. Or she could disappear.

My Thoughts:

This was a pretty interesting first chapter, but also a bit confusing as well. This book is about time travel and it seems like in order for them to travel, they must obtain a map of the place they want to go to. This is an interesting concept but the way it was executed in the first chapter kind of confused me – I’m still not exactly sure how it works. However, I’m sure the concept would become clearer to me if I continued on with the story. I did enjoy that before the first chapter there was a map of the place the characters were currently in. Also, I saw before chapter 2 that there was a different map so I’m hoping this is a recurring theme! I absolutely love maps in books! However, while this was interesting, the first chapter alone wasn’t interesting enough for me to continue on with right now. I hope to pick it up sometime in the future though!

Verdict: Setting aside for now

Book #4: Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

ink-and-bone

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When his friend inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn…

My Thoughts:

This book had the longest beginning of all 6 books – and probably even longer than any book I’ve ever read. The prologue alone was 20 pages! The first chapter itself was 27 pages. I was 10 pages into the book when I realized this and as it wasn’t holding my interest at all, I knew I couldn’t read all 47 pages. I don’t know when I’ll be continuing on with this book. It definitely has an interesting premise but not something I currently want to read.

Verdict: Setting aside for now

Book #5: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

the-bone-season

The year is 2059. Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney is working in the criminal underworld of Scion London, based at Seven Dials, employed by a man named Jaxon Hall. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing.

It is raining the day her life changes for ever. Attacked, drugged and kidnapped, Paige is transported to Oxford – a city kept secret for two hundred years, controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. Paige is assigned to Warden, a Rephaite with mysterious motives. He is her master. Her trainer. Her natural enemy. But if Paige wants to regain her freedom she must allow herself to be nurtured in this prison where she is meant to die.

The Bone Season introduces a compelling heroine and also introduces an extraordinary young writer, with huge ambition and a teeming imagination. Samantha Shannon has created a bold new reality in this riveting debut.

My Thoughts:

I decided on page 8 out of the 19 page first chapter that this was not the book I wanted to read right now. There was way too much going on (unfamiliar words, concepts, etc) that I couldn’t wrap my mind around it all. While I’m not in the mood for this book right now, hopefully sometime in the future I will be!

Verdict: Setting aside for now

Book #6: Iron Cast by Destiny Soria

iron-cast

In 1919, Ada Navarra—the intrepid daughter of immigrants—and Corinne Wells—a spunky, devil-may-care heiress—make an unlikely pair. But at the Cast Iron nightclub in Boston, anything and everything is possible. At night, on stage together, the two best friends, whose “afflicted” blood gives them the ability to create illusions through art, weave magic under the employ of Johnny Dervish, the club’s owner and a notorious gangster. By day, Ada and Corinne use these same skills to con the city’s elite in an attempt to keep the club afloat.

When a “job” goes awry and Ada is imprisoned, she realizes they’re on the precipice of danger. Only Corinne—her partner in crime—can break her out of Haversham Asylum. But once Ada is out, they face betrayal at every turn.

My Thoughts:

This first chapter was very interesting! It starts off in the year 1919 in an asylum for criminals with “afflicted” blood. Our first main character, Corinne, is supposedly starting her first shift as a nurse at the asylum where one of her patients is our second main character, Ada. Shortly after, we learn that Corinne and Ada are best friends and Corinne has come to the asylum to break Ada out. I really enjoyed this chapter! When I read the synopsis, it seemed like this asylum bit would happen later in the novel and not in the first chapter. It left me wondering how and why Ada ended up in the asylum, why people with “afflicted” blood are treated so poorly, and what abilities Ada and others like her have. I really, really want to know more!

Verdict: Definitely a contender


And the book I decided to continue on with is…

iron-cast

I’m really excited to read more of Iron Cast!! If you’ve read this book, let me know in the comments what you thought of it. No spoilers please!!


Instead of tagging specific people, I tag anyone who is struggling to pick their next read. Hopefully this tag is as helpful to you as it was for me! If you end up doing the tag, please leave a link to your post in the comments!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

One thought on “Try a Chapter Tag

Leave a Reply

