January Wrap Up

january-wrap-up-2017

Hi everyone! Wow, the first month of the new year is already coming to a close. I can’t believe it! While I’d like to say I kicked off 2017 right by reading tons of books, that just didn’t happen. I only ended up completing 3 books and 1 novella in January for a total of 1,232 pages (which includes the pages of the books I DNF’d and started but didn’t finish). I started off the first half of the month really well, but unfortunately I started watching a new (to me) show on Netflix and sort of just lost the desire to read since I got so caught up with the show. Hopefully in February I’m able to read more!


Books Read in January

last-3-reads-125

When trying to decide what book to start off the new year with, I stared at my shelves for a long time. I saw many books that were part of series that I wanted to read, but I had little to no recollection of what happened in the previous book. I then decided I was going to reread one of the previous books in one of the series before continuing on with its sequel. I just needed to figure out which book to pick! That’s when I put together a list of 4 books – Frozen Tides, The Wrath & the Dawn, Ten Thousand Skies Above You, and The Heart of Betrayal – and set up a poll on Twitter. 58% of the people who voted on this poll chose The Wrath & the Dawn so that was the book I went with!

I ended up enjoying The Wrath & the Dawn even more than when I first read it in May of 2015! At that time I gave it 4 stars, but after rereading, I just had to increase my rating! The world, writing, and characters were just so great! This awesomeness continued in The Wrath & the Dawn‘s sequel, The Rose & the Dagger, which is the next book that I read. I really, really enjoyed this book as well! If you want to hear more of my thoughts, see above for the link to my The Rose & the Dagger review! After finishing The Rose & the Dagger, I wasn’t exactly sure what I wanted to read. I ended up randomly selecting Saint Anything off my shelves and I read it rather quickly. This book was also a reread for me! I first read it June of 2015 and actually rated it 4.5 stars at the time. While I didn’t dislike the book at all this time around, I just felt that a 4 star rating would be more accurate for me!

Novella Read in January

the-mirror-and-the-maze

I read this 11 page novella after finishing The Wrath & the Dawn and before starting The Rose and the Dagger. This short novella serves almost as an epilogue for The Wrath and the Dawn. I enjoyed it, but since it was so short I’m not able to give it a rating!

Book I DNF’d in January

The Crown's Game

I’m really bummed that I ended up DNFing this one because it sounded really good! I just found it to be extremely slow and it took me forever to get to where I ended up stopping (at page 80). The POV kept switching rapidly which really prevented me from getting to know the characters. I get that the author was trying to show us readers the different characters and how they all have roles in this story and world but it just felt choppy. I wasn’t able to connect to any of the characters due to this. I don’t think I’ll be attempting to read this one at a later date.

Book I Started but Didn’t Finish in January

iron-cast

I started this book a little past halfway through the month and read 40 pages. After that, I got sucked into the world of Netflix and wasn’t really interested in reading. Hopefully I get out of this slump I’m in and finish this book in February!


Reading Challenge Progress

This year I’m participating in 5 reading challenges! To track my progress, I have a page on my blog but I would also like to share my progress with you all. That being said, my monthly wrap ups will all include updates on my progress. For more information on the reading challenges mentioned below, click here.

1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

goodreads-small-2

My Goal: Read 75 books

Completed in January: 3 books

Completed in 2017: 3 books

 

2. Beat the Backlist Reading Challenge

beat-the-backlist-small2

My Goal: Read 25 backlist books

Completed in January: 1 book

Completed in 2017: 1 book

 

 

3. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

flights-of-fantasy-small

My Goal: Read 25 fantasy books

Completed in January: 2 books

Completed in 2017: 2 books

4. Library Love Challenge

2017-library-love-challenge-small

My Goal: Read 12 library books

Completed in January: 0 books

Completed in 2017: 0 books

5. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

alphabet-soup-small

My Goal: Read a book for each letter of the alphabet (The words “The” and “A” can be skipped; the first word after that will be counted)

Completed in January: 3 letters

Completed in 2017: 3 letters


How did the first month of the year go for you in terms of reading? Did you read any great books? Let me know in the comments and/or link me to your January wrap up post!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

