February Wrap Up

february-wrap-up-2017

Hey guys! Wow, another month is over. While I started off the month pretty slow, I did end up completing 7 books and a total of 2,647 pages (which includes the book I started but didn’t finish). I’m very, very happy with this! The last time I read this much in a month was in June of 2016! While I wish I could have read even more, I’m still satisfied with what I did read.


Books Read in February

frozen-tides-crystal-storm

I kicked off the month by rereading Frozen Tides because I knew I wanted a refresher before diving into the next book in the series, Crystal Storm. I did end up slightly lowering my original rating from last year (5 stars) to 4.75 because I just didn’t think it was as good as book 3 in the series, Gathering Darkness, which I gave a full 5 stars. Overall, I really enjoyed rereading Frozen Tides and I was happy to finally be able to continue on with the series! Crystal Storm was very good and definitely had some shocking moments but it felt more like a filler/set up for the final book. I still enjoyed it a lot and I’m super excited for the series finale!

last-3-reads-130

The next book I read, A Darker Shade of Magic, was another reread for me (the fourth of the year!). I really, really loved being back in this world (well, worlds) with the amazing characters. I loved this book even more the second time around and ended up raising my original rating (4 stars) up to 4.5 stars!

The next two books, Some Kind of Happiness and The Bronze Key, I picked up around the same time but ended up putting the latter aside because I was completely hooked to the former. As you can tell by my 5 star rating (my first of the year!), I absolutely loved Some Kind of Happiness! As someone who has anxiety, this book really spoke to me. Even though the main character mostly deals with depression, I could relate to her so much. Since I don’t experience depression, I can’t speak to the accuracy of how it was portrayed in this novel but I definitely feel like the anxiety/panic attack parts were pretty spot on. While I absolutely loved this book, it still made me feel anxious at times so keep that in mind if you’re planning to pick up this book!

After reading a 5 star book, it was pretty disappointing reading a 2 star book. The Bronze Key was SO boring! Seriously, for 80% of the book nothing happened!! Then the last 20% all kinds of things went down but I didn’t like what was happening at all. I enjoyed the first book in this series, but it really went down hill from there. At this time, I’ve definitely given up on this series.

wu1

This next book, Bound by Blood of Sand, I picked up on a whim while at the library. While I didn’t absolutely love it, I still really enjoyed it. If you want to hear more of my thoughts, check out my review (linked above)!

The last book I completed this month was my third reread of the month and fifth reread of the year. Apparently I’m really into rereading this year – half of the books I’ve read so far have been rereads! Anyway, I first read Vicious in 2015 and randomly decided to reread it while waiting for A Conjuring of Light to come in the mail. I really enjoyed rereading this book and I was surprised at how much I had forgotten! A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows still remain my favorite books by Victoria but this book is a close second!

Book I Put On Hold in February

iron-cast

  • Iron Cast by Destiny Soria – Put on hold at 40 pages

I started this book in January and I enjoyed the first 40 pages, but for some reason I wasn’t in the mood to continue. I put it down for a few weeks and then decided in early February that I didn’t feel like continuing at that time. I definitely will pick this book up again – I’m just not sure when!

Book I Started But Didn’t Finish in February

A Gathering of Shadows Final

I started reading this book towards the end of the month but since I was both sick and busy, I wasn’t able to finish it. It will be priority #1 in March since I need to finish rereading it and get started on A Conjuring of Light! At the time I’m writing this, I’m currently on page 160.


Reading Challenge Progress

This year I’m participating in 5 reading challenges! To track my progress, I have a page on my blog but I would also like to share my progress with you all. That being said, my monthly wrap ups will all include updates on my progress. For more information on the reading challenges mentioned below, click here.

1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

goodreads-small-2

My Goal: Read 75 books

Completed in February: 7 books

Completed in 2017: 10 books

2. Beat the Backlist Reading Challenge

beat-the-backlist-small2

My Goal: Read 25 backlist books

Completed in February: 4 books

Completed in 2017: 5 books

3. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

flights-of-fantasy-small

My Goal: Read 25 fantasy books

Completed in February: 6 books

Completed in 2017: 8 books

4. Library Love Challenge

2017-library-love-challenge-small

My Goal: Read 12 library books

Completed in February: 4 books

Completed in 2017: 4 books

5. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

alphabet-soup-small

My Goal: Read a book for each letter of the alphabet (The words “The” and “A” can be skipped; the first word after that will be counted)

Completed in February: 5 letters

Completed in 2017: 8 letters


How many books were you able to read in February? Did you read any 5 star books? Let me know down in the comments and/or link me to your February wrap up!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

