May Wrap Up

May Wrap Up 2017

Welcome to June everyone! It seems like May came and went just as fast as the previous months did. I can’t believe we’re almost half way through the year! This is particularly bad considering I’m currently 3 books behind schedule on my Goodreads goal for the year… oops! Well, I ended up having a really good reading month in May! I managed to read 8 books with a total of 2,767 pages. That’s the most I’ve read in a month so far this year!


Books Read in May

Last 3 reads (145)

Considering the last book I finished in April was The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine, I of course had to kick off May with the companion novel, The Cursed QueenThe Cursed Queen takes place pretty much at the same time as The Impostor Queen and has a different narrator named Ansa. Unfortunately, I didn’t really care for Ansa that much. It seemed like she never really had her own opinion – she kept flip-flopping sides throughout the book. Overall, I didn’t like this book as much as The Impostor Queen but I still enjoyed it. I’m really looking forward to seeing how the story wraps up in The True Queen!

After finishing The Cursed Queen, I wasn’t sure what to read next. Before going to bed, I decided I would pick up We Are Okay from the stack of library books I had checked out and read a few pages. Before I knew it, it was almost 3:00 in the morning and I had read 150 pages! After getting some sleep, I finished the book later that day. Even though it was short, it still packed a punch. The story was very emotional and was also told very beautifully. I really enjoyed it and I’m so glad I decided to randomly pick it up!

Next, I read By Your Side, which my friend had lent me after she read and really enjoyed it. Now, my friend and I usually have different reading tastes (I enjoy fantasy more while she likes to read romance/contemporary) but I ended up really liking this book! There was mental illness rep (anxiety/panic attacks) that I felt was very authentic and well done. I have anxiety myself and I could really relate to the main character’s thought processes and such!

WU1

The next book I read was Duels and Deception by Cindy Anstey and as you can tell by my rating, I wasn’t a huge fan. This was mainly because I was extremely bored throughout this book. The whole kidnapping thing that was mentioned in the synopsis was resolved way too quickly (I think the whole thing only lasted like 20 pages) and the characters left a lot to be desired. While I did enjoy some parts of this book, I wouldn’t go out of my way to recommend this book to anyone.

Next, I read one of my most anticipated books of the year – The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. Just like Becky’s first book, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, I read this book in less than a day. While I didn’t love this book quite as much as Simon vs., I still really, really enjoyed it! My favorite parts had to be the characters and how diverse they all were! It was really spectacular. I can definitely see myself rereading this book sometime in the future!

Last 3 reads (148)

After reading several non-fantasy books, I knew I had to get back to my favorite genre. And what better way to do that than to reread a Rick Riordan book? I decided to reread The Sword of Summer because I wanted to read its sequel, The Hammer of Thor, but I hardly remembered anything from the first book. I really enjoyed rereading The Sword of Summer! I definitely liked it just as much as the first time around!

After rereading The Sword of Summer, I was planning to immediately jump into the next book, but I saw Hotel Valhalla: Guide to the Norse Worlds (a companion book to the series) at the library and I decided to read that first. It was short (less than 150 pages), but I really liked reading it!

Finally, the last book I read this month was The Hammer of Thor. I really wanted to finish this book before the end of the month so I read like crazy on the 31st and ended up finishing it! I read about 75% of the book in only one day. I find that pretty impressive considering the book is about 460 pages long! I really loved The Hammer of Thor!! It was even better than the first book in the series! I especially liked the new character, Alex, and reading about all the wild things the characters had to do save the world (well, worlds). I cannot wait for the next book but I’m going to have to because it doesn’t come out until October!


Reading Challenge Progress

This year I’m participating in 5 reading challenges! To track my progress, I have a page on my blog but I would also like to share my progress with you all. That being said, my monthly wrap ups will all include updates on my progress. For more information on the reading challenges mentioned below, click here.

1. Goodreads Reading Challenge

goodreads-small-2

My Goal: Read 75 books

Completed in May: 8 books

Completed in 2017: 28 books

2. Beat the Backlist Reading Challenge

beat-the-backlist-small2

My Goal: Read 25 backlist books

Completed in May: 2 books

Completed in 2017: 9 books

3. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

flights-of-fantasy-small

My Goal: Read 25 fantasy books

Completed in May: 4 books

Completed in 2017: 18 books

4. Library Love Challenge

2017-library-love-challenge-small

My Goal: Read 12 library books

Completed in May: 3 books

Completed in 2017: 11 books

5. Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge

alphabet-soup-small

My Goal: Read a book for each letter of the alphabet (The words “The” and “A” can be skipped; the first word after that will be counted)

Completed in May: 2 letters

Completed in 2017: 15 letters


Was May a good reading month for you? How many books were you able to complete? Let me know in the comments and/or link me to your monthly wrap up. I would love to see what you read this past month!

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

Leave a Reply

