Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hi everyone! As you can tell by the title, today I’m doing the Mid-Year Book Freak Out tag! This tag was originally created by ReadLikeWildfire and elyjayne on Youtube. I’ve been wanting to do this tag on my blog for awhile now but I discovered it too late in 2015 to do it and I forgot to do it in 2016. Even though I wasn’t tagged by anyone, I’m still doing it! Book titles link to Goodreads. Enjoy!


1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017

Untitled

Since it’s totally impossible for me to pick only one, I went with the three 5 star books I’ve read so far this year: Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand, A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab, and The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. They’re all my favorites for different reasons but I loved them all so, so much!!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017

The Hammer of Thor

I could also say A Conjuring of Light for this one, but as I’m trying not to repeat answers, I’ll have to go with The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan. I really liked the first book in the series, but this sequel was even better! I’m so excited to see what happens next in the third book!!

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

Even though I could answer with lots of different books, I decided to go with The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee. I’ve heard SO many good things about this book and I’m dying to read it!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

27 Hours

Again, I could name a ton of books for this question but I managed to pick just one: 27 Hours by Tristina Wright. I’m beyond excited to read this book!!

5. Biggest disappointment

You're Welcome, Universe

My biggest disappoint so far this year was definitely You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner. The book sounded so good and I was hearing a lot of good things about it, but unfortunately I really didn’t like it. The main character was so rude and selfish for a majority of the novel that it really made the book unbearable. The only things I liked were the Deaf rep and the ASL aspects. Other than that, I really disliked this book. I ended up giving it a rating of 1.5 stars.

6. Biggest surprise

The Dark Days Pact

My biggest surprise so far this year was The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman. I had given the first book in the series, The Dark Days Club, a 3 star rating, but I ended up liking the sequel a lot more than I thought I would! The plot was so interesting and exciting that it immediately drew me in! I ended up giving it a 4 star rating, which was a big improvement from the first book.

7. Favorite new author (debut or new to you)

IMG_2103-768x512

My favorite new author of the first half of 2017 is most definitely debut author Angie Thomas who wrote The Hate U Give. As I previously mentioned, The Hate U Give was one of my favorite books so far this year. Because of that, I definitely had to give some love to Angie Thomas who wrote a spectacular book that I never wanted to end! I’ll most definitely be reading anything Angie writes in the future!!

8. Newest fictional crush

I’m not quite sure I have a new fictional crush! If I had to pick someone though, I would say Paul from Tash Hearts Tolstoy. He’s so kind and such a great friend. I would definitely like to have someone like him in my life!

9. Newest favorite character

I’m definitely going to have to go with Alex from The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan. Alex was a great addition to the crew and I’m so excited to see more of Alex in the next book!

10. Book that made you cry

We Are Okay

I don’t really cry while reading books but We Are Okay by Nina LaCour definitely made me tear up. It was a heart-wrenching story about grief that I really enjoyed!

11. Book that made you happy

Tash Hearts Tolstoy

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee is a book that made me so, so happy! Mostly because the main character was asexual just like I am and it was so amazing seeing my sexual orientation represented in a book! I also really enjoyed pretty much everything else about this book, especially the characters. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year

Umm.. I don’t think I’ve seen any this year! I saw Beauty and the Beast though. Does that count?

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year

Sadly, I’ve only written 3 full length reviews so far this year. So if I have to pick a favorite, I’ll have to go with my review of Radio Silence by Alice Oseman! If you’re interested in reading it, check it out here.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought or received so far this year

Once and For All

I’m definitely going to have to go with Once and for All by Sarah Dessen for this one! I love the colors on the cover itself and I love how the cover beneath the dust jacket is purple and the end papers are bright pink! It’s so beautiful!

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Umm… TOO MANY! In order to meet my Goodreads goal, I’m going to have to finish 41 more books. There are so many books I want to read before the year is over – I could probably write a whole blog post about it! Hmm, maybe I will…


I Tag:


Have you done this tag this year? If yes, please link me to your post below! I would love to see what your answers were for the questions! 

goodreadstwitterinstagrambloglovin

5 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Jacquie (Rattle the Stars) says:

    I felt the same way about The Dark Days Pact! THE BEST SEQUEL! I liked The Dark Day Club and gave it a 3 star rating as well. It was really slow going. I can’t wait for the third book. The ending of the The Dark Days Pact left me with so many questions. Great tag!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

