Review: Sparks of Light by Janet B. Taylor

Sparks of Light

Sparks of Light

Series: Into the Dim #2

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Time Travel, Historical

Publication Date: August 1, 2017

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

Pages: 435 (ARC)

Synopsis: For the first time in her life, Hope Walton has friends . . . and a (maybe) boyfriend. She’s a Viator, a member of a long line of time-traveling ancestors. When the Viators learn of a plan to steal a dangerous device from the inventor Nikola Tesla, only a race into the past can save the natural timeline from utter destruction. Navigating the glitterati of The Gilded Age in 1895 New York City, Hope and her crew will discover that high society can be as deadly as it is beautiful.

In this sequel to the dazzling time-travel romance Into the Dim, sacrifice takes on a whole new meaning as Hope and Bran struggle to determine where—or when—they truly belong.

my-thoughts-2

TWs for Sparks of Light: animal cruelty, talk of sexual assault, violence, racism

Wow, this sequel was a big step down from the first book. When I first read Into the Dim last year, I really enjoyed it and gave it 4 stars. After rereading it earlier this month, I didn’t enjoy it quite as much so I lowered the rating down to 3.5 stars. It’s a miracle that I actually finished Sparks of Light! There were many times where I wanted to just give up and DNF it, but I was still curious so I continued on.

The book for the most part was very boring. I thought that things would pick up once they traveled back in time, but even then it took a little for me to get interested. However, the whole part where Hope was trapped in a place (won’t say where because of spoilers) was extremely disturbing to me (and not in a good way). I don’t know why it bothered me so much, but I was SO glad when it was over. When I wasn’t bored or disturbed, I was confused. At times, I had no clue what was going on or who a person was. The flashbacks randomly thrown in didn’t help matters either.

The only reason why this book is getting a 2 star rating instead of a 1 star rating from me is because I was actually interested at some points and I do like some of the characters. Other than that, I really didn’t like this book! It sounds like there’s going to be at least one more book in this series (I don’t see it on Goodreads yet though) but I’m not sure if I’m going to continue on. While I’m a bit curious to see what happens next, I’m not sure it will be worth my time.

2-stars

2 out of 5 stars

3 thoughts on “Review: Sparks of Light by Janet B. Taylor

  1. Em says:

    I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like this one as much as the first one. I haven’t read either of them, but I really hate when the second book doesn’t live up to the first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

