Booktube-A-Thon 2017 Wrap Up

Booktube-A-Thon 2017 Wrap Up

Hi everyone! As you may or may not know, this past week (the 24th-30th) was Booktube-A-Thon! This was either my second or third time participating in Booktube-A-Thon and I had such a great time! While I wish I could have read a bit more, I’m still really happy with what I managed to read! See which books I read and what challenges I completed below! (Note: book covers link to Goodreads.)


What I Read During Booktube-A-Thon:

1. The Sandcastle Empire by Kayla Olson

The Sandcastle Empire

My Rating: 3 stars | Pages Read: 315 | Challenge Completed: Technically none*

I kicked off Booktube-A-Thon by continuing with a book I had already started! I was 140 pages into The Sandcastle Empire at midnight on the first day of the readathon. I had planned on finishing this book on day 1, but my friend ended up spending the night and I didn’t get the chance to finish it until day 2.

*I was originally planning on using this book for the “finish a book completely outdoors” challenge by cheating and reading the last few pages outside, therefore finishing it outside. However, I was too wrapped up in the book and I completely forgot to do this. The reason why I wrote technically none was because I was hoping to pass this one off as completing the challenge because the book itself takes place almost entirely outdoors, but I don’t think that would actually count.

2. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

The Hidden Oracle

My Rating: 4 stars | Pages Read: 361 | Challenge Completed: Finish a book in one day

Almost immediately after finishing The Sandcastle Empire I started reading The Hidden Oracle. I chose this one to attempt to read in one day because I’ve read it before and because Rick Riordan books are so action packed and entertaining! As you can see, I did succeed in completing the book in one day!

3. Jackaby by William Ritter

Jackaby

My Rating: 3.5 stars | Pages Read: 299 | Challenge Completed: Read a book you bought because of the cover

This was an extremely fast read! (Which is a great thing during a readathon!) I could have used this for the “complete a book in one day” challenge as well because I definitely read it in less than one day.

4. Once and for All by Sarah Dessen

Once and For All

My Rating: 4 stars | Pages Read: 376 | Challenges Completed: Read a hyped book & read a book with a person on the cover

After reading a few non-contemporary books in a row, I decided to pick up the only contemporary book from my Booktube-A-Thon TBR, Once and for All. Like the past two books, I also read this book in less than one day! It felt SO good to be flying through books that fast!

5. Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Latham

dreamland-burning

My Rating: 4.5 stars | Pages Read: 365 | Challenge Completed: Read about a character that is very different from you

The last book I completed for Booktube-A-Thon was also read in less than one day! I actually almost finished Dreamland Burning the same day I finished Once and for All. I ended up finishing the last 15 pages a little bit after midnight the next day!

I Started But Didn’t Finish:

1. The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

The Dark Prophecy

My Rating: 4 stars | Pages Read: 290

I had every intention of finishing this book before the readathon ended. However, on the second to last day I was extremely exhausted all afternoon and then started having bad stomach pain in the evening. The stomach pain continued the next day (the last day of Booktube-A-Thon) so I was unfortunately unable to finish The Dark Prophecy in time. However, I have since finished the book so I wanted to include my rating in this wrap up!

Final Stats:

Books Finished: 5

Total Page Count: 2,006

Challenges Completed: 5 out of 7


If you participated in Booktube-A-Thon this past week, how did you do? Did you read as much as you wanted to? Let me know and/or link me to your wrap up post down in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Booktube-A-Thon 2017 Wrap Up

  1. Em says:

    The Hidden Oracle was such a fun read!! I haven’t gotten to the second book yet, but I can’t wait to!! I’ve also been hearing a lot of mixed reviews for Sandcastle Empire. Not sure if I’m going to end up reading that one or not.

    Like

    • Brooke's Books says:

      You definitely need to read The Dark Prophecy soon!! It was just as great as the first book. While The Sandcastle Empire was interesting and entertaining at some points, I just couldn’t connect with the characters at all. Plus the ending seemed really rushed. It wasn’t a bad book but I’m not sure I’d recommend it to others!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

