December Wrap Up

December Wrap Up 2017

Hello everyone and welcome to my final wrap up of the year! I can’t believe 2017 is already coming to a close! I feel like the year went by really fast. This month was an alright reading month for me. It was a busy month for me and my family so I didn’t get tons of reading done. Still, I was able to read 6 books and a total of 2,075 pages. I’m pretty happy with that!


Last 3 reads (195)

The first book I finished this month was Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann, which I started towards the end of last month. This book had FANTASTIC ace rep. I think it’s the best I’ve ever read! I can’t speak to the biromantic rep but I’ve heard several biromantic ace people have really, really liked and related to it. Definitely check it out if you’re looking to read about an awesome biromantic ace main character (which you should be!).

A few days later, I picked up Diviners by Libbra Bray, which has been on my bookshelf for quite some time now. It was a very, very slow-paced book that could – and should – have been shortened. While I enjoyed some aspects of the book, like the setting and the mystery aspect, I didn’t completely enjoy it overall. Also, there were several instances of animal abuse that came without warning and really upset me.

While trying to finish one of the reading challenges I’m participating in, the Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge, I looked at my bookshelf and tried to find the missing letters that I needed to read. “K” was one of those letters. So, I decided to read Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen, which I had actually already read probably 8-10 years ago. It was a pretty decent book but not one of my all-time favorite Dessen novels.

Last 3 reads (197)

  • More Than This by Patrick Ness – 4.25 stars
  • Zodiac by Romina Russell – 3.75 stars
  • Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu – 4 stars

To get the next letter I needed to complete the Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge, “M,” I read More Than This by Patrick Ness, which was also a reread for me. I first read it in January 2015 and, at the time, I absolutely loved it. This time around, I still really, really enjoyed it, but I wasn’t quite as head over heels for it like I was in 2015. I definitely enjoyed rereading it though!

At the same time I was reading More Than This, I also picked up Zodiac by Romina Russell to complete the letter “Z.” It took me quite awhile to read both Zodiac and More Than This but only because I had a lot going on in my personal life. I did (obviously) finish Zodiac and I enjoyed it more than I thought I would! It was an interesting start to a sci-fi series and I’m looking forward to reading the sequel soon.

Lastly, I read Moxie by Jennifer Mathieu. I was already interested in reading it when I realized it had an “x” in the title, which was the last letter I needed to complete the Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge. I know I’m technically cheating because the letter is supposed to be the starting letter of the word, but I got a little desperate since I couldn’t find another book that started with the letter X that I was interested in reading. Anyway, I enjoyed Moxie quite a lot! The only complaint I have is that I wish the feminism displayed in the book was more intersectional. I talked more about it briefly on Goodreads if you want to hear more of my thoughts.


Reading Challenge Progress

CLICK HERE to find out how I did with all my reading challenges this year in my 2017 Reading Challenges Wrap Up post.


How was your reading month in December? Were you able to finish all the books you wanted to before the end of the year? Let me know down in the comments below and/or link me to your December Wrap Up post!

Leave a comment